1. Due to the recent site upgrade, the iPadForums (iPF) App will no longer work. The new iPadForums.net website has been designed from the ground up to work perfectly from any mobile, tablet, or desktop computer using the built in internet browser. Create a shortcut to iPadForums.net on your home screen by following these steps: Create an icon for iPadForums.net

Unable to completely connect to WiFi.

Discussion in 'iPad 1 Forum' started by Teddie_C, May 19, 2012.

  1. Teddie_C
    Offline

    Teddie_C iPF Novice

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, Florida
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Ok, I have a first generation iPad. I had to update my wireless router from my cable provider. The router is a Arris TGB852. I have updated my iPad to the latest version 5.1.
    Since doing this my iPad will no longer completely connect to the WiFi. The SSID shows up under Networks. The wireless signal is full and shows that I am connected to the network. Next to the SSID instead of the check mark I have the spinning wheel. When I try to use the internet I get an error message that says that I am not connected.
    I also have two iPhone 4's and a latest addition iPad that have no issues logging on. I have tried taking the iPad to another location to see if it will log on to wifi at all. No problems there.

    I have tried:
    1. Resetting the Network settings on the iPad.
    2. Hard restart if the iPad.
    4. re-booting the router
    5. re-installing the software on iPad and starting from a new iPad.
    6. turning off the password protection on the router.
    7. making sure that the router is using the recommended settings from Apple.
    8. talking to Apple.

    Nothing seems to work. Does anyone have any ideas that my help.
  2. skimonkey
    Offline

    skimonkey Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    18,432
    Thanks Received:
    972
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Michigan. USA
    Ratings:
    +998 / 0
    Hi there-have you placed a call with your cable provider since you had to recently update your router through them. Since your iPad can connect when at different locations, seems to me it is coming from your home network. Just a thought here.
  3. Teddie_C
    Offline

    Teddie_C iPF Novice

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, Florida
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Yes I have. They say it's the iPad and Apple says its my cable provider. I know it must be a setting on the router that my iPad
    doesn't like.
  4. Midranger4
    Offline

    Midranger4 iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Messages:
    676
    Thanks Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Levittown pa
    Ratings:
    +26 / 0
    Does you provider grant you full access to the router? It almost sounds like they may have something in place to provision only authorized connections, similar, if not, MAC filtering.

    Can you access the router ?

    And if you don't mind....who is the provider and what make/model is the cable modem/router......I am presuming it is a single unit?
  5. Midranger4
    Offline

    Midranger4 iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Messages:
    676
    Thanks Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Levittown pa
    Ratings:
    +26 / 0
    I misunderstood. iPad1 fails to connect after upgrade to V5.1 while other devices can.

    I would be curious to see the connection properties on the problem iPad vs working iPad. Also router setup info if possible.
  6. Midranger4
    Offline

    Midranger4 iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Messages:
    676
    Thanks Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Levittown pa
    Ratings:
    +26 / 0
    Ok. This is an uncommon but reported issue with ipad1, V5.1 and WIFI.

    Two potential solutions.


    The first is to force your cable modem to be provisioned again. A power cycle alone will not do this in many cases, especially if you have VOIP services and a backup battery in the modem.

    Try this:

    Remove battery from modem if one is present.

    Now unplug the modem from the wall and remove the cable feed into the modem.

    Wait about five minutes to be sure the modem is bricked.

    Now reinsert the battery and supply wall power to the modem.

    Then reconnect the cable feed to the modem.

    The modem should hunt for a moment or two. Ultimately it will be provisioned and DHCP will assign it an IP.

    Now see if ipad1 will discover it and grab an IP.

    other suggestion is to forget the problem access point on the problem iPad. Then create it using the OTHER function under WIFI connections.



    Still look around will post back if I find anything further.
  7. Teddie_C
    Offline

    Teddie_C iPF Novice

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, Florida
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    The router name has already been posted. The service provider is Brighthouse. I have full access to the router. The Mac filtering is off. I have done a complete power off as described above and
    still get the spinning wheel. I have tried the direct access point as described above. Nothing works so far. Thanks for all advice. I am hoping someone can give me an idea that I have not tried.
  8. Midranger4
    Offline

    Midranger4 iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Messages:
    676
    Thanks Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Levittown pa
    Ratings:
    +26 / 0
    Can you post screen shots of connection details and post router config?
  9. Teddie_C
    Offline

    Teddie_C iPF Novice

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, Florida
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    [TABLE="class: t1"]
    [TR]
    [TD="class: td1"]Enable Wireless
    [/TD]
    [TD="class: td2"]Enabled
    [/TD]
    [/TR]
    [TR]
    [TD="class: td3"]Wireless Network Name (SSID)
    [/TD]
    [TD="class: td4"]iGateway1
    [/TD]
    [/TR]
    [TR]
    [TD="class: td1"]Broadcast Network Name (SSID)
    [/TD]
    [TD="class: td2"]Enabled
    [/TD]
    [/TR]
    [TR]
    [TD="class: td3"]Change Password
    [/TD]
    [TD="class: td4"]

    [/TD]
    [/TR]
    [TR]
    [TD="class: td1"]Tx Power Level
    [/TD]
    [TD="class: td2"]High
    [/TD]
    [/TR]
    [TR]
    [TD="class: td3"]Channel
    [/TD]
    [TD="class: td4"]Auto
    [/TD]
    [/TR]
    [TR]
    [TD="class: td1"]AP Isolation
    [/TD]
    [TD="class: td2"]

    [/TD]
    [/TR]
    [TR]
    [TD="class: td3"]Enable WMM
    [/TD]
    [TD="class: td4"]

    [/TD]
    [/TR]
    [TR]
    [TD="class: td1"]Language
    [/TD]
    [TD="class: td2"]English
    [/TD]
    [/TR]
    [TR]
    [TD="class: td3"]Security Mode
    [/TD]
    [TD="class: td4"]WPA2-PSK
    [/TD]
    [/TR]
    [/TABLE]
  10. Teddie_C
    Offline

    Teddie_C iPF Novice

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, Florida
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    [TABLE="class: t1"]
    [TR]
    [TD="class: td1"]Enable Wireless
    [/TD]
    [TD="class: td2"]Enabled
    [/TD]
    [/TR]
    [TR]
    [TD="class: td3"]Wireless Network Name (SSID)
    [/TD]
    [TD="class: td4"]iGateway1
    [/TD]
    [/TR]
    [TR]
    [TD="class: td1"]Broadcast Network Name (SSID)
    [/TD]
    [TD="class: td2"]Enabled
    [/TD]
    [/TR]
    [TR]
    [TD="class: td3"]Change Password
    [/TD]
    [TD="class: td4"]

    [/TD]
    [/TR]
    [TR]
    [TD="class: td1"]Tx Power Level
    [/TD]
    [TD="class: td2"]High
    [/TD]
    [/TR]
    [TR]
    [TD="class: td3"]Channel
    [/TD]
    [TD="class: td4"]Auto
    [/TD]
    [/TR]
    [TR]
    [TD="class: td1"]AP Isolation
    [/TD]
    [TD="class: td2"]

    [/TD]
    [/TR]
    [TR]
    [TD="class: td3"]Enable WMM
    [/TD]
    [TD="class: td4"]Enabled
    [/TD]
    [/TR]
    [TR]
    [TD="class: td1"]Language
    [/TD]
    [TD="class: td2"]English
    [/TD]
    [/TR]
    [TR]
    [TD="class: td3"]Security Mode
    [/TD]
    [TD="class: td4"]WPA2-PSK
    [/TD]
    [/TR]
    [/TABLE]


    [TABLE="class: t2"]
    [TR]
    [TD="class: td1"]Wireless Mode
    [/TD]
    [TD="class: td2"]Mixed B/G/N
    [/TD]
    [/TR]
    [TR]
    [TD="class: td3"]BG Protection
    [/TD]
    [TD="class: td4"]

    [/TD]
    [/TR]
    [TR]
    [TD="class: td1"]Beacon Interval
    [/TD]
    [TD="class: td2"]100
    [/TD]
    [/TR]
    [TR]
    [TD="class: td3"]DTIM Interval
    [/TD]
    [TD="class: td4"]1
    [/TD]
    [/TR]
    [TR]
    [TD="class: td1"]RTS Threshold
    [/TD]
    [TD="class: td2"]2304
    [/TD]
    [/TR]
    [TR]
    [TD="class: td3"]Fragment Threshold
    [/TD]
    [TD="class: td4"]2305
    [/TD]
    [/TR]
    [TR]
    [TD="class: td1"]Frame Burst
    [/TD]
    [TD="class: td2"]

    [/TD]
    [/TR]
    [TR]
    [TD="class: td3"]WMM Power Save mode
    [/TD]
    [TD="class: td4"]

    [/TD]
    [/TR]
    [/TABLE]
    80211n Specific Settings
    [TABLE="class: t2"]
    [TR]
    [TD="class: td1"]Operation Mode
    [/TD]
    [TD="class: td2"] Mixed
    [/TD]
    [/TR]
    [TR]
    [TD="class: td3"]Channel Bandwidth
    [/TD]
    [TD="class: td4"] 20 MHz
    [/TD]
    [/TR]
    [TR]
    [TD="class: td1"]Guard Interval
    [/TD]
    [TD="class: td2"]800ns
    [/TD]
    [/TR]
    [TR]
    [TD="class: td3"]MCS
    [/TD]
    [TD="class: td4"]Auto
    [/TD]
    [/TR]
    [/TABLE]
  11. Midranger4
    Offline

    Midranger4 iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Messages:
    676
    Thanks Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Levittown pa
    Ratings:
    +26 / 0
    What specific settings do you reference, and what mods, if any, did you make to the router?

    Considering the trigger event was the upgrade of the ipad1 to iOS 5.1 I really would like to see screen shots of the iPad settings for this access point. I am looking for the same screen shot as the one below. It would also be helpful to see the same screen shot from the working iPad2 that has no issue connecting to the problem access point.

    I haven't forgotten you. Was a busy weekend and I now have some time to dig into this with you.

    Thanks



    image-2604862932.png
  12. Teddie_C
    Offline

    Teddie_C iPF Novice

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, Florida
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    This one is my new iPad third gen.
    IMG_0040.PNG

    This one is the one that doesn't work.
    IMG_0344.JPG

    just about everything.
  13. Midranger4
    Offline

    Midranger4 iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Messages:
    676
    Thanks Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Levittown pa
    Ratings:
    +26 / 0

    Grrrr....now it's personal!

    Ok...taking a step back.

    1. All was fine and both the ipad1 and ipad2 were able to attach to the router simultaneously without issue.
    2. You upgraded the firmware on the router and statement number 1 above remained true.
    3. You upgraded iOS on both iPads and ipad1 would no longer fully connect to the router. Check mark never achieved. Spinning wheel runs endlessly
    4. Remediation activities thus far include forgetting the network from the WIFI available networks list, resetting network settings on ipad1, reloading IPad altogether at current rev. Reset router, bricked router forced new provisioning from ISP.

    Please correct anything above not accurate.

    Now moving on.......


    Can you tell me the maximum number of DHCP clients the router allows?
    Can you tell me how many clients are listed on the DHCP clients table and is the ipad1 listed here?
    Can you confirm the client host names are not the same on both iPads? General/about/name


    FROM APPLE SUPPORT :

    If you are using a Wi-Fi router at home, refer to your user manual/documentation to assist you with some of these suggestions.

    Check the manufacturer's website for firmware or software updates for your Wi-Fi router.
    Check the wireless security option of your Wi-Fi router:
    If you are using WEP security and have multiple WEP keys on your Wi-Fi router, try configuring your Wi-Fi router to use only a single WEP key in key index 1.
    Consider using WPA or WPA2 instead. WPA and WPA2 encryption protocols are newer, more effective security options for wireless networks than the older WEP protocol.
    Temporarily disable wireless encryption or security on the Wi-Fi router to rule out encryption issues.
    Disable 40MHz in the 2.4GHz settings on the Wi-Fi router. Mac computers, iPhone, iPad, and iPod touch do not support this mode. Disabling it may reduce interference issues.
    Supported Wi-Fi networks vary by iPhone, iPad, iPod touch model (Example: Does my device support 802.11n?). Refer to Tech Specs for detailed information on which standards your device supports.


    I realize you have set router to Apple recommended specs. Can you confirm against link provided here http://support.apple.com/kb/HT4199



    Finally....have you tried tweaking the router settings at all since problem began?

    I'm at a loss....but will not surrender!
  14. Midranger4
    Offline

    Midranger4 iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Messages:
    676
    Thanks Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Levittown pa
    Ratings:
    +26 / 0
    http://www.slashgear.com/ipad-2-vs-ipad-1-original-02137373/

    Does not appear there is a hardware variance between ipad1 and ipad2 as related to WIFI functionality.


    SNIPPET:

    First of all, there are a bunch of things that essentially haven’t changed at all between iPad and iPad 2. The display is exactly the same as before, as is the resolution: 9.7-inch LED-backlit IPS LCD with 1024 x 768 pixel resolution. The next thing that’s exactly the same is the storage options, 16, 32, and 64GB being your options.

    Your Wifi will still be 802.11 a/b/g/n, your Bluetooth will still be 2.1 + EDR, accelerometer stays the same at 3-axis, and you’ll be able to get your iPad in black. But from there on out, things start improving in sweet ways.
  15. Midranger4
    Offline

    Midranger4 iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Messages:
    676
    Thanks Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Levittown pa
    Ratings:
    +26 / 0
    I have searched extensively for any differences between ipad1 and ipad2 as related to WIFI functionality and have come up empty.

    I have also searched extensively for WIFI issues caused by upgrading to v5.1 and again with the exception of one fellow who complained the iPad would not remember his home network and he had to provide his password all the time.....nothing. Well google is returning this thread and another I opened elsewhere seeking insight to your problem but nothing else I'm afraid.

    What I'm getting at is this issue of yours certainly appears isolated and there are no indications of a larger problem being experienced by ipad1 or folks upgrading to v5.1 regardless of the model iPad they own. I think we should focus exclusively on the router for now.

    I have yet, but will now, seek out the manual on your router and start looking around for your pesky little bug that has proved difficult to isolate so far.
  16. Teddie_C
    Offline

    Teddie_C iPF Novice

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, Florida
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    The router was a new router. Not new software on it. The DHCP does not have the original iPad listed. All of my other devices that use the wifi signal are. I have read over all of Apple recommendations for router settings. I have also turned off the password, to see if that was a problem. I am using Apples recommendation for password settings. I have renamed my network just incase that was an issue. The range for ip adresses is a couple of hundred. The iPad was the first device I tried to use on my network. It never would connect.
    Thanks for the help so far.
  17. Midranger4
    Offline

    Midranger4 iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Messages:
    676
    Thanks Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Levittown pa
    Ratings:
    +26 / 0
    Just checking but what is the client name for the ipad1 vs ipad2?
  18. Midranger4
    Offline

    Midranger4 iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Messages:
    676
    Thanks Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Levittown pa
    Ratings:
    +26 / 0
    And is there a firmware upgrade available for the router?
  19. Teddie_C
    Offline

    Teddie_C iPF Novice

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, Florida
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    There is no firmware up grade that I am aware of. The iPad have two different client names, if you are talking about what they are called.
  20. Midranger4
    Offline

    Midranger4 iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Messages:
    676
    Thanks Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Levittown pa
    Ratings:
    +26 / 0
    Is this a modem/router or stand alone router your cable modem plugs into?

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

1st generation apple ipad shows internet connection but will not connect

,
apple ipad tg862g
,
apple tv arris router
,

apple tv does not connect to arris router

,

arris tg862 apple tv

,

aspinning wheel when trying to connect to wireless router

,

connect ipad to arris router

,

connect ipad to iphone wifi

,
how do i configur my macbook air to an arris router connected to brighthouse cable
,
how to join an arris wireless network with ipad
,
ipad air hung - spinning wheel when connecting to internet
,

ipad not connecting wireless network just spins

,
ipad spinning wheel wifi connecting
,
ipad trying to connect to internet but keeps spinning
,

ipad wifi spinning

,
ipad will not connect to arris wireless router
,
iphone has spinning wheel trying to connect to linksys wifi
,
loader spins when trying to connect ipad to wireless router
,

spinning circle by wifi

,
unable to grab wifi on ipad