Skype?

Discussion in 'iPad General Discussions' started by HUNTER1, Jul 29, 2010.

  1. HUNTER1

    HUNTER1
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    219
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Just learning my way around. Downloaded Skype and be able to make calls to businesses. Can I make a local call and how? Thanks
     
  2. paulyeo11

    paulyeo11
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    348
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I am also looking for this feature.
     
  3. Al Rogers

    Al Rogers
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    420
    Thanks Received:
    4
    I went to the Skype website and there I found all the help I needed,they have almost everything covered.:)
     
  4. paulyeo11

    paulyeo11
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    348
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Roger thank . Need to buy credit.
     
  5. CaptKirk

    CaptKirk
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    636
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Don't forget your headset
     
  6. Bluenik25

    Bluenik25
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Skype works great without a headset on the iPad.

    I was able to use Skye on my iPad during my last trip to Canada for very little cost. I purchased a local area code phone number from Skype.com for around $18 for three months then just had my wife call me. While running backgrounder I was able to use my iPad and not miss a call. You can also buy credits to make phone calls to normal phone numbers.
     
  7. paulyeo11

    paulyeo11
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    348
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Can you share with me how to make Skype run on background ? Need to jail break iPad ?
     
  8. Game_Writer

    Game_Writer
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    87
    Thanks Received:
    0
    The newest release of the Skype app supposedly added this feature. Before that, I had to have the Skype app open to receive calls. When I updated the app last, it said his was being added, but I haven't personally tried it yet.
     
  9. Bluenik25

    Bluenik25
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I used a program call backgrounder on my jailbreak iPad to run it in the background.

    I believe the new version that you are referring to runs in the background on iOS4.1 for the iPhone.
     
  10. cmalinowski

    cmalinowski
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    73
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Not familiar with skype (well, I'm familiar with it, I just haven't used it), but the iSip app will "ring" whether open or not. If you can attach your skype account to the iSip application (I have a gizmo5 account and can) then this may work for non-jailbroken iPads.
     
Similar Threads
  1. skipper
    Replies:
    9
    Views:
    5,011
  2. RAC
    Replies:
    10
    Views:
    5,439
  3. JanetS
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    8,021
  4. CCL
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    13,761
  5. Peterjv
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    1,032
Loading...

Share This Page



Search tags for this page
change rington skype ipad 2
,
change ringtone skype ipad
,

change skype ringtone ipad

,
how to change ringtone on skype for ipad
,

how to change skype ringtone on ipad

,
how to change your skype ringtone on ipad
,
how to set ring tone for skype for ipad
,
ipad skype no ringtone
,
no ringtone call phone from skype ipad
,
skype ipad no ring tone