Saving apps with an upgrade

Discussion in 'iPad Hacking' started by Java, Jan 4, 2011.

  1. Java
    Offline

    Java iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas tx usa
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I just bought a jail broken iPad. It is running 3.2 . I'd like to install the latest apple updates and at this point don't really need the advantages of a jail broken iPad (after I master apple I will think about learning about jailbreaking).

    Can I simply do the update from apple and that will clear the jail break?
    Since I have not yet done a backup to iTunes will I lose the apple app that have been downloaded from the apple app store?
    Will I experience any problems if I do a backup to iTunes, install the Apple update then do a restore from iTunes.
    I'Ve got some apps from the Apple app Store that the previous owner installed and would like to keep them (I assume since I didn't purchase the apps through my account I I can't download them again at no charge).
    Thanks for any advise.
    Java
  2. sch
    Offline

    sch iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    118
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    OK, I'll have a go at this:


    Can I simply do the update from apple and that will clear the jail break?

    - Yes

    Since I have not yet done a backup to iTunes will I lose the apple app that have been downloaded from the apple app store?

    - No, app etc purchases are associated with your Apple account, not the hardware.

    Will I experience any problems if I do a backup to iTunes, install the Apple update then do a restore from iTunes.

    - No, in fact iTunes will do a backup first, then update the OS.

    I'Ve got some apps from the Apple app Store that the previous owner installed and would like to keep them (I assume since I didn't purchase the apps through my account I I can't download them again at no charge).

    - Those apps belong to the previous owner's account, so they will not transfer to you and will be deleted.


    Cheers,

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
how to save apps on ipad when updating
,
how to save apps when updating ipad 4.3
,
to save apps on ipad before update
,

updating ipads savings apps and content