1. Due to the recent site upgrade, the iPadForums (iPF) App will no longer work. The new iPadForums.net website has been designed from the ground up to work perfectly from any mobile, tablet, or desktop computer using the built in internet browser. Create a shortcut to iPadForums.net on your home screen by following these steps: Create an icon for iPadForums.net

Need help activating it

Discussion in 'iPad General Discussions' started by pm36064, Apr 9, 2011.

  1. pm36064
    Offline

    pm36064 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Alabama
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I need help...I am getting an iPad 2 and need to activate it for someone who will later use it on his iTunes account. How do I do this without crossing over the itunes accounts? In other words I need to set it up once and give it to him.
  2. Tim SPRACKLEN
    Offline

    Tim SPRACKLEN iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    15,246
    Thanks Received:
    120
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +120 / 0
    If you're worried about this and you're buying the iPad2 at an Apple Store, then they'll set it up for you. It only takes them a couple of minutes so it's a good option if you're at all unsure about this.

    Tim
  3. pm36064
    Offline

    pm36064 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Alabama
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Apple store is not an option...any ideas
  4. jthessin
    Offline

    jthessin iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    63
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Matthews NC
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    ???

    What do you mean set it up???
    If you are trying to load your apps on it and then give them to him you wont be able to do that easily or legally.
  5. pm36064
    Offline

    pm36064 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Alabama
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    No...I just want to open the box and plug it into my itunes to activate it for him to use later on from an itunes account he sets up..
  6. Rgsp
    Offline

    Rgsp iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    If someone was giving me an iPad I would want to set it up and activate it myself. The initializing is part of the fun of getting a new toy and learning about it.
  7. Tim SPRACKLEN
    Offline

    Tim SPRACKLEN iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    15,246
    Thanks Received:
    120
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +120 / 0
    OK - I understand better now. It's not a problem. Once you've set it up using your iTunes account then you can go to 'Settings', 'Store' and 'Sign Out' and your iTunes account will no longer be available to the user of the iPad.

    But you'll need to be careful when you do the initial sync otherwise it will set up the iPad with your Contacts and email account settings and I'm guessing you don't want to do that. In addition, you should turn off transfering any apps that might be on your PC too so they don't get transferred.

    Tim

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

activate ipad without itunes

,
activate ipad without itunes account
,
do you need itunes to register ipad 4
,
do you need to activate an ipad
,
funbox activate ipad resigtered to user
,
how can i activate my ipad if someone else activated it before
,
how to activate ipad it with 2 itunes accounts on one computer
,
how to activate ipad needs proxy settings in
,
how to activate ipad without account
,
how to activate ipad without apple
,

how to activate ipad without itunes

,
ipad 2 activation without itunes
,
need help activating ipad
,
need help activating ipad 1
,
what all needed for activation ipad
,
why does ipad require actovation