1. Due to the recent site upgrade, the iPadForums (iPF) App will no longer work. The new iPadForums.net website has been designed from the ground up to work perfectly from any mobile, tablet, or desktop computer using the built in internet browser. Create a shortcut to iPadForums.net on your home screen by following these steps: Create an icon for iPadForums.net

Motorola droid and non 3G iPad question

Discussion in 'iPad General Discussions' started by elusiveaura, Apr 12, 2010.

  1. elusiveaura
    Offline

    elusiveaura iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Ok. I went back to root access on my droid and downloaded barnacle. I got it working. I can't believe how simple it was to access the Internet on my iPad anywhere by using my droid. The question is.....will verizon not catch on and see different or abnormal bandwidth usage on my phone now?

    I'm not going to go crazy but it seems like you could rack up some bandwidth usage fairly quickly. I heard even though it's unlimited data (which is plan I have) that there is still a 5gb cap. Any comments on this? Should I and the other barnacle users be worried? Lol. Thanks.
  2. JohnnyApple
    Offline

    JohnnyApple Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    813
    Thanks Received:
    80
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +86 / 0
    I think as long as you don't go crazy, they can't tell. You could be using a ton of new apps (pandora) on your Droid and they use data just the same.

    Just don't go nuts, I would stick under 5gb/month if you can and I don't think it will be a problem at all.
  3. elusiveaura
    Offline

    elusiveaura iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    That's what I was hoping for lol. Thanks
  4. srleadjb
    Offline

    srleadjb iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    LA, CA
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I'm doing the same thing and as you said it works awesome! And its actually better than the 3g model because you get Verizon's network, which were I'am trumps At&t. I would say if you don't go over 5gb's, it doesn't matter what your doing. Your one customer in how many millions? It would be their burden of proof that your tethering and as long as your not using too much of their bandwith, I really don't even see them caring (or noticing.) You probably know, but you can monitor your bandwith on your verizon account on-line. Also, if your using the Droid, I'd assume your using Gmail. I just sync'd my contacts and calendars with my Ipad. Now everything on my phone is sync'd with my Ipad and Google! Great combo....:D
  5. fairoasis
    Offline

    fairoasis iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    IL
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    What did you use to root your droid? Did you have the 2.1 OTA update? I'm scared to do it:eek:
  6. StudioTq
    Offline

    StudioTq iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Me too

    Scared but very interested

    Tom
  7. Sincere11105
    Offline

    Sincere11105 iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    183
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I did the same thing except I'm around 6gb. I just moved so i have b een using it as a replacement until friday. I'm hoping under 10gb should be fine,, it's high because i stream a lot on the mlb at bat app and pandora. I don't see how verizon or any other carrier can put a cap on these smart phones now, especially with these streaming apps. And if they allow the palm pre plus tether for free, why can't the droid?
  8. EE_Chris
    Offline

    EE_Chris iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Severn, MD
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    If you installed the OTA 2.1 update, then what you first need to do is use a program called RSDLite (free to download) to flash the phone back to 2.0.1. After that, you install a specially made version of the OTA 2.1 update that includes root access. It's really uncomplicated, nor is there a need to worry about botching something up. RSDLite is actually the program that the Verizon store would use to re-flash your phone in the event that something happened to it.

    Head over to droidforums.net in the 'Hacking Help' section for the tutorials.
  9. durangojim
    Offline

    durangojim iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Can you tell me how you synced your calendar with the ipad? I can't seem to figure that out.
  10. elusiveaura
    Offline

    elusiveaura iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Yep, ee Chris told you right. The forums over there are great. After you root your phone the easiest way to get it up and going is to use your phones browser and go to droidmod.org. You will then download the file and install. After you read up on everything and are rooted there is a free app on marketplace called barnacle. That's what you'll use tonget free tethering. :).

    If you have any questions, I don't mind answering them.
  11. geeek204
    Offline

    geeek204 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    It's pretty easy, check this out: CalDAV Calendar Sync : CalDAV - Google Mobile Help
  12. fairoasis
    Offline

    fairoasis iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    IL
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Am now tethered using Barnacle and all I can say is, "I DID IT"!!!!!!! It took me a while but it was worth it. Being able to connect anywhere is pure bliss!
  13. durangojim
    Offline

    durangojim iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Thanks! Worked perfectly!

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
can i sinc my moto x to my ipad 3
,
can i sync ipad to droid phone
,
can i sync my droid with ipad
,

can i sync my droid with my ipad

,

how to pair droid with ipad

,
sync ipad contacts with droid
,

sync ipad to a motorola

,
sync my droid to my ipad