What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Mail Days to Sync question

John Collins

iPF Noob
Reaction score
I'm new to iPad and ios7, so bear with me.
Recently acquired an iPad Air. I set up two mail accounts - Gmail and Hotmail and both appear to be working OK.
However, when I set up the Hotmail account I got a "Mail Days to Sync" prompt. When I set up the Gmail account this prompt didn't appear - Why ??
I'll admit I don't fully understand "Mail Days to Sync". I've read various threads about this and the more I read the more confused I get !
Is there a basic difference in the way Gmail and Hotmail work on an iPad ?
I thought all web based email accounts just access the appropriate e-mail server and display on your device, (iPad or PC), all the mail messages in your account or are the e-mails actually stored on the iPad ??
On the Hotmail account I had Mail Days to Sync set to 1 day - I then changed it to "no limit" and the Mail icon on the home screen displayed a value of 312 in red. I changed it back to 1 day and it reduced to just 5.
What does this mean ?
A number of questions in this post, - explanations in simple terms please.!!

J. A.

Super Moderator
Staff member
Reaction score
In Hotmail/Outlook you can choose the timespan of which the Mail app will show your emails. When you set it to one day, only emails from the last day (24 hours) will be visible on your iPad. If you select "No limit", the app will show all the emails in every folder which you will also find in the account when you access it online.

You don't have this choice for Gmail. The account works different. It loads all content to your iPad - emails and folders you created, without limit.