1. Due to the recent site upgrade, the iPadForums (iPF) App will no longer work. The new iPadForums.net website has been designed from the ground up to work perfectly from any mobile, tablet, or desktop computer using the built in internet browser. Create a shortcut to iPadForums.net on your home screen by following these steps: Create an icon for iPadForums.net

Ipad help

Discussion in 'iPad Hacking' started by glaze77, Sep 3, 2011.

  1. glaze77
    Offline

    glaze77 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    Messages:
    29
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hi please can you guy's or gal's help. I installed some thing from cydia that would make iTunes think you had the most up to date os. I had to upgrade then downgrade so have lost it so if anyone knows the name that would be perfect. I am running 4.3.3 & iTunes keeps asking me to go to 4.5 & you know that is a no no if you wont to jb. Thank's for reading all the best. Martin
  2. graywolf
    Offline

    graywolf iPad Super Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    3,655
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC USA
    Ratings:
    +35 / 0
    Can't you just click on no or cancel when iTunes asks you?
  3. glaze77
    Offline

    glaze77 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    Messages:
    29
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hi thanks for the reply. Yes I could do that but just thinking for the long term as I will not be upgrading for some time. Thanks again Martin
  4. f4780y
    Offline

    f4780y Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,109
    Thanks Received:
    634
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Troon, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +634 / 0
    There is a check box on the prompt in iTunes which says "Dont ask me again". You should check that... and it will never prompt you again for that device... :)

    It is a very bad idea to spoof the version of IOS you have just to stop iTunes asking you to upgrade. The dependency checks in Cydia rely on this being correct to protect you from installing things which are not compatible...
  5. glaze77
    Offline

    glaze77 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    Messages:
    29
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Cool thanks for that as I just got it again, do you think I should install it or not its called recovery guard.
    All the best. Martin
  6. graywolf
    Offline

    graywolf iPad Super Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    3,655
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC USA
    Ratings:
    +35 / 0
    I wouldn't reccoment it because like f4780y said, it might confuse cydia and screw something up.
  7. Mickey330
    Offline

    Mickey330 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11,373
    Thanks Received:
    1,656
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Western NY state (USA)
    Ratings:
    +1,752 / 0
    I'd suggest you not install it. Again, as f4780y states, you're just asking for complications.

    Plus, again, you can just tell iTunes to NOT ask you to update. It's what I do and I hook my iPad up to iTunes at least once a week - haven't been asked to update yet.

    Marilyn
  8. glaze77
    Offline

    glaze77 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    Messages:
    29
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Thanks for the reply's. I think I will just leave it then as I am new to all this & do not wont to mess my iPad up. I will just tick the box in iTunes.
  9. graywolf
    Offline

    graywolf iPad Super Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    3,655
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC USA
    Ratings:
    +35 / 0
    I think he is. Many people have "accidentally" upgraded.
    (I don't know how you accidentally upgrade, iTunes asks you, the iPad shus off, and it says "upgrading" at the top :D)

Share This Page