1. Due to the recent site upgrade, the iPadForums (iPF) App will no longer work. The new iPadForums.net website has been designed from the ground up to work perfectly from any mobile, tablet, or desktop computer using the built in internet browser. Create a shortcut to iPadForums.net on your home screen by following these steps: Create an icon for iPadForums.net

iPad Camera Connection Kit - Upgrade voltage hack?

Discussion in 'iPad Hacking' started by will89, Apr 27, 2011.

  1. will89
    Offline

    will89 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    England, UK
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    I have just purchased one of the iPad camera connection toolkits for using a usb drive with, however the memory stick i need to use with it doesn't work. All it says is that it requires too much power. I have seen a few old posts on the net about this but i am wondering if there is a fix for this yet? I'm running 4.2.1 untethered on an 1st gen iPad 16gb wi-fi+3g.

    Thanks.
  2. DontUnderstandMyIpad
    Offline

    DontUnderstandMyIpad iPad Guru

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    3,196
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Outside my iPad, or was it inside?
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0
    Apart from the lonely post on some shady blog claiming otherwise is there no CC kit hack.

    Btw. Apple reduced the current, not the voltage.
  3. f4780y
    Offline

    f4780y Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,107
    Thanks Received:
    630
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Troon, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +630 / 0
    Sorry, there is no fix at the moment, nor am I aware of one in development.
  4. will89
    Offline

    will89 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    England, UK
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Ok, thanks for the quick reply. Looks like i will have to switch to my other stick that works. Have they increased the current on they iPad2? Not that i am going to change for one!

    Cheers.
  5. DontUnderstandMyIpad
    Offline

    DontUnderstandMyIpad iPad Guru

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    3,196
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Outside my iPad, or was it inside?
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0
    No, the iPad 2 also only supplies 10mA.
  6. slimshotty
    Offline

    slimshotty iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I purchased the CC kit today. I am running iPad OS 4.3.2 and I can confirm that I can connect to external flash drive as well as an external harddrive connect to an external power source. Good stuff!!

    -slimshotty
  7. DontUnderstandMyIpad
    Offline

    DontUnderstandMyIpad iPad Guru

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    3,196
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Outside my iPad, or was it inside?
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0
    Would you mind sharing which external hard drive you are using?
  8. f4780y
    Offline

    f4780y Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,107
    Thanks Received:
    630
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Troon, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +630 / 0
    Any external hard drive with an external power source will work!

    The trick would be an external hard drive without a power source, of which there are exactly none now because of the voltage limitation...
  9. DontUnderstandMyIpad
    Offline

    DontUnderstandMyIpad iPad Guru

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    3,196
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Outside my iPad, or was it inside?
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0
    When connecting a Buffalo DriveStation (it has an external powersupply) to the iPad does exactly nothing happen. I have also tried various other combinations, including running a powered hub in-between the hard drive and the iPad to no avail.

    NFTS is a dog in the manger, isn't it?

    The external hard drive has two partitions, one NFTS and another one Fat32. Is that not enough? Do all partitions need to be Fat32?
  10. f4780y
    Offline

    f4780y Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,107
    Thanks Received:
    630
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Troon, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +630 / 0
    Hmmm. Ive got 3 different powered drives... All work.

    Format is your problem. Must be fat or fat32.
  11. Macmee
    Offline

    Macmee iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I wanted to use my ipad to charge my phone so I could tether longer.

    I can't tether for long at all now. I wish there was some way to fix it.
  12. slimshotty
    Offline

    slimshotty iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
  13. Munky
    Offline

    Munky iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    343
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Indiana
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0
    I am running iPad with os 4.3.2 and have an externally powered iomega 2.5" external drive. It isn't working, hasn't worked since upgrading to 4.2.1....if externally powered drives will work in spite of the voltage cut, why isn't iFile seeing mine?
  14. Munky
    Offline

    Munky iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    343
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Indiana
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0
    Ok! I finally got it working again using the above command. Used to, iFile would just automatically mount the drive and it would show up the same as if I put an SD card in the cck. Now I have to mount it manually. A couple questions....

    1. What is the command to unmount the drive? Because if I just disconnect it then try to mount it again it says resource busy and keeps saying that until I reboot the iPad, then it will let me mount again.

    2. Is there any way to get iFile to mount the drive automatically again when I plug it into the cck?
  15. bat0nas
    Offline

    bat0nas iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011
    Messages:
    213
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    What you can do with this iPad Camera Connection Kit?
    When using it with iPad2 (which is not yet jailbroken).

    Just transfer images and videos from SD card or USB device?

    Is it possible to transfer to iPad2 documents, pfg files, excel or powerpoints files from external storage (eg. USB flash memory)?
  16. DontUnderstandMyIpad
    Offline

    DontUnderstandMyIpad iPad Guru

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    3,196
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Outside my iPad, or was it inside?
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0
    Only image transfer is possible.
    You can't import documents without a jail broken device, hence the name 'camera connection kit'.
  17. bat0nas
    Offline

    bat0nas iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011
    Messages:
    213
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Thanks! Now it seriously makes me want the jailbreak for iPad2 :(
  18. refrainer
    Offline

    refrainer iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    Messages:
    43
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    hoping for a cydia power tweak hack that can revert back the power requirements when it first came with ios 3.++
  19. Munky
    Offline

    Munky iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    343
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Indiana
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0
    Does anyone know the command to unmount a hard drive in mobile terminal? Also, how can you save your own commands in the popup menu on the left so you don't have to type long commands in every time?
  20. slimshotty
    Offline

    slimshotty iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    To unmount the drive the command is 'umount /Volumes/EXT'.

    -slimshotty

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
camera cmnector kit charging tweak
,
hack for ipad camera connection kit for random disconnections
,
hack ipad camera connect kit
,
hack too much power
,
ipad 2 camera kit powered
,
ipad 2 usb power hack
,
ipad 3 camera connection kit not enough power
,
ipad 4 camera kit
,
ipad camera attachment too much power
,

ipad camera connection kit not enough power

,
ipad camera connection kit power fix
,

ipad camera connection kit too much power fix

,

ipad cck power hack

,
ipad connection usb too much power
,
ipad not enough power for usb fix
,
ipad usb hack
,
ipad usb power hack
,
ipad usb power limitation
,
powered camera connection kit
,
when connecting camera to ipad it says not enough power