ipad as a MIDI instrument?

Discussion in 'iPad for Musicians' started by webplodder, Nov 26, 2012.

  1. webplodder
    Offline

    webplodder iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    London, U
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hi. I have just purchased some software for my desk-top that teaches you how to play the piano. I do have a regular MIDI keyboard to use with this, however, it can be a bit cumbersome to keep having to set everything up and takes up considerable space. I was wondering if there was some way to use my ipad as a MIDI instrument, connected to my PC to use with the software.

    Thank you.
  2. Blastingas10
    Offline

    Blastingas10 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2013
    Messages:
    13
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Just get the apple camera connection kit. Works like a charm.
  3. scifan57
    Offline

    scifan57 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011
    Messages:
    20,079
    Thanks Received:
    2,050
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Regina,Canada
    Ratings:
    +2,302 / 1
    Webplodder, before spending your money on a camera connection kit, you should wait and see if any member with actual experience answer to say if it can actually be done. The camera connection kit Is intended by Apple to transfer photos from a digital camera or it's SD card, nothing more.
  4. KevinJS
    Offline

    KevinJS Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2011
    Messages:
    10,262
    Thanks Received:
    762
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Edmonton AB Canada
    Ratings:
    +864 / 0
    You may want to check out this site for midi solutions. I don't know if they do exactly what you are looking for, but they do some cool looking stuff, so it could be worth a visit.

    iRig MIDI
  5. Blastingas10
    Offline

    Blastingas10 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2013
    Messages:
    13
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    The camera connection kit works, I assure you. It's all over the Internet, just google it.
  6. AQ_OC
    Offline

    AQ_OC Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    6,418
    Thanks Received:
    430
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    SC
    Ratings:
    +430 / 0
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 23, 2014
  7. AQ_OC
    Offline

    AQ_OC Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    6,418
    Thanks Received:
    430
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    SC
    Ratings:
    +430 / 0
    It would appear this is worth some investigation.

    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 23, 2014
  8. skimonkey
    Offline

    skimonkey Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    18,547
    Thanks Received:
    1,036
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Michigan. USA
    Ratings:
    +1,094 / 1
    Interesting...but, I sure did get dizzy watching it!
  9. KevinJS
    Offline

    KevinJS Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2011
    Messages:
    10,262
    Thanks Received:
    762
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Edmonton AB Canada
    Ratings:
    +864 / 0
    Thanks for supplying the information, Blastingas10, and thanks AQ_OC for the confirmation that it works.

    We do like to be able to confirm solutions here, because we like the information supplied to be complete. Hopefully this is what OP is looking for. It certainly looks like it.
  10. Blastingas10
    Offline

    Blastingas10 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2013
    Messages:
    13
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    It's a great little trick. My USB microphone works through the camera connection kit, as well. A shame that the microphone sucks.
  11. KevinJS
    Offline

    KevinJS Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2011
    Messages:
    10,262
    Thanks Received:
    762
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Edmonton AB Canada
    Ratings:
    +864 / 0
    I have a midi keyboard kicking around. It's pretty laggy when plugged in to the PC. I think I'll get a CCK and try it out. Thanks again.
  12. Gabriel1
    Offline

    Gabriel1 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    17,132
    Thanks Received:
    746
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cranbrook, Kent, UK
    Ratings:
    +747 / 0
    Latency is the enemy of the musician......I'd be looking for a good powered interface for this wether used with a PC or any other type of computer.

    The Archangel
  13. AQ_OC
    Offline

    AQ_OC Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    6,418
    Thanks Received:
    430
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    SC
    Ratings:
    +430 / 0
    I've always wanted one of those midi keyboards! If I could hook that into GB, it could turn into fun!
  14. Blastingas10
    Offline

    Blastingas10 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2013
    Messages:
    13
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Check out the the alesis q25 or the akai lpk25. I was torn between the two, I ended up going with the alesis because of its full size keys. The only thing I wish it had is the apreggiator, which the akai has.

    They both quick, cheap fixes if you're wanting a midi keyboard. But I would love to have one of the full size ones with the ipad dock. I'm not much of a keyboard player, though, that's why I settled for the q25. I just use it to accompany my guitar playing. I'm tryin to get a little better on the keys, though.
  15. Magnetic1
    Offline

    Magnetic1 iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2012
    Messages:
    168
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    So far I know that Avid KeyStudio MIDI keyboard plugs in to the camera kit into the ipad 2 and works with SampleTank Free.
    In order to get MIDI keyboards to work you need apps that support Core MIDI. Many free apps don't support Core MIDI; you have to upgrade to the paid version, i.e. Music Studio.
    I also know that Akai SynthStation 25 works as Akai's supported keyboard and MIDI keyboard; they operate in two different manner. The dock connector uses the Akai's method and the usb method uses the Core MIDI. However the usb method apparently draws too much power from the ipad 2. The Akai SynthStation 25 works with iMac GarageBand via usb.
    Last edited: Feb 15, 2013
  16. Magnetic1
    Offline

    Magnetic1 iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2012
    Messages:
    168
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    I reread the original and it looks like you want something like the yamaha arp app. So you want to limit yourself to one finger playing on the ipad.
    I tried many times to use all my fingers to play on the ipad and there is just no way to be fast without down-converting to the one finger method.
  17. F1Fanatic
    Offline

    F1Fanatic iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    CT and NYC
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    I am trying to connect an M Audio Oxygen 88, but no sounds key input.. I am new to the iPad and am connecting the keyboard w/ a lightning camera connection kit to a 4th gen iPad using a powered USB hub. The keyboard lights like normal, but no sounds or change in graphics. (note: If I connect directly to the iPad, or disconnect the power from the hub I get an error about needing too much power). Do I need to set anything in GB on the iPad, or should it be straight forward from the start? Any ideas??

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

ipad as midi instrument

,
ipad instrumente midi ?
,

ipad midi instruments

,
regular midi keyboard with ipad
,
use ipad as midi instrument
,

using an ipad as an instrument

,
using ipad 2 as midi keyboard
,
using ipad as an instrument in gb
,
would you call an apple ipad an instrument