ipad as a MIDI instrument?

Discussion in 'iPad for Musicians' started by webplodder, Nov 26, 2012.

  1. webplodder

    webplodder iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    London, U
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hi. I have just purchased some software for my desk-top that teaches you how to play the piano. I do have a regular MIDI keyboard to use with this, however, it can be a bit cumbersome to keep having to set everything up and takes up considerable space. I was wondering if there was some way to use my ipad as a MIDI instrument, connected to my PC to use with the software.

    Thank you.
     
  2. Blastingas10

    Blastingas10 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2013
    Messages:
    13
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Just get the apple camera connection kit. Works like a charm.
     
  3. scifan57

    scifan57 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011
    Messages:
    21,117
    Thanks Received:
    2,792
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Regina,Canada
    Ratings:
    +3,381 / 2
    Webplodder, before spending your money on a camera connection kit, you should wait and see if any member with actual experience answer to say if it can actually be done. The camera connection kit Is intended by Apple to transfer photos from a digital camera or it's SD card, nothing more.
     
  4. KevinJS

    KevinJS Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2011
    Messages:
    10,261
    Thanks Received:
    763
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Edmonton AB Canada
    Ratings:
    +865 / 0
    You may want to check out this site for midi solutions. I don't know if they do exactly what you are looking for, but they do some cool looking stuff, so it could be worth a visit.

    iRig MIDI
     
  5. Blastingas10

    Blastingas10 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2013
    Messages:
    13
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    The camera connection kit works, I assure you. It's all over the Internet, just google it.
     
  6. AQ_OC

    AQ_OC Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    6,411
    Thanks Received:
    431
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    SC
    Ratings:
    +431 / 0
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 23, 2014
  7. AQ_OC

    AQ_OC Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    6,411
    Thanks Received:
    431
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    SC
    Ratings:
    +431 / 0
    It would appear this is worth some investigation.

     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 23, 2014
  8. skimonkey

    skimonkey Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    18,697
    Thanks Received:
    1,192
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Michigan. USA
    Ratings:
    +1,303 / 1
    Interesting...but, I sure did get dizzy watching it!
     
  9. KevinJS

    KevinJS Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2011
    Messages:
    10,261
    Thanks Received:
    763
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Edmonton AB Canada
    Ratings:
    +865 / 0
    Thanks for supplying the information, Blastingas10, and thanks AQ_OC for the confirmation that it works.

    We do like to be able to confirm solutions here, because we like the information supplied to be complete. Hopefully this is what OP is looking for. It certainly looks like it.
     
  10. Blastingas10

    Blastingas10 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2013
    Messages:
    13
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    It's a great little trick. My USB microphone works through the camera connection kit, as well. A shame that the microphone sucks.
     
  11. KevinJS

    KevinJS Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2011
    Messages:
    10,261
    Thanks Received:
    763
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Edmonton AB Canada
    Ratings:
    +865 / 0
    I have a midi keyboard kicking around. It's pretty laggy when plugged in to the PC. I think I'll get a CCK and try it out. Thanks again.
     
  12. Gabriel1

    Gabriel1 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    17,096
    Thanks Received:
    746
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cranbrook, Kent, UK
    Ratings:
    +748 / 0
    Latency is the enemy of the musician......I'd be looking for a good powered interface for this wether used with a PC or any other type of computer.

    The Archangel
     
  13. AQ_OC

    AQ_OC Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    6,411
    Thanks Received:
    431
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    SC
    Ratings:
    +431 / 0
    I've always wanted one of those midi keyboards! If I could hook that into GB, it could turn into fun!
     
  14. Blastingas10

    Blastingas10 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2013
    Messages:
    13
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Check out the the alesis q25 or the akai lpk25. I was torn between the two, I ended up going with the alesis because of its full size keys. The only thing I wish it had is the apreggiator, which the akai has.

    They both quick, cheap fixes if you're wanting a midi keyboard. But I would love to have one of the full size ones with the ipad dock. I'm not much of a keyboard player, though, that's why I settled for the q25. I just use it to accompany my guitar playing. I'm tryin to get a little better on the keys, though.
     
  15. Magnetic1

    Magnetic1 iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2012
    Messages:
    169
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    So far I know that Avid KeyStudio MIDI keyboard plugs in to the camera kit into the ipad 2 and works with SampleTank Free.
    In order to get MIDI keyboards to work you need apps that support Core MIDI. Many free apps don't support Core MIDI; you have to upgrade to the paid version, i.e. Music Studio.
    I also know that Akai SynthStation 25 works as Akai's supported keyboard and MIDI keyboard; they operate in two different manner. The dock connector uses the Akai's method and the usb method uses the Core MIDI. However the usb method apparently draws too much power from the ipad 2. The Akai SynthStation 25 works with iMac GarageBand via usb.
     
    Last edited: Feb 15, 2013

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

ipad as midi instrument

,
ipad instrumente midi ?
,

ipad midi instruments

,
regular midi keyboard with ipad
,
use ipad as midi instrument
,

using an ipad as an instrument

,
using ipad 2 as midi keyboard
,
using ipad as an instrument in gb
,
would you call an apple ipad an instrument