GPS active without 3G or Wifi Active?

Discussion in 'iPad General Discussions' started by slothead, Jul 15, 2011.

  1. slothead

    slothead iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Messages:
    332
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Frederick, MD
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0
    Actually 2 questions:
    (1) Since I don't want to pay international data rates, if touring in the UK (with an iPad at home in the USA) will the GPS work if I have the cellular data and the Wifi turned off?
    (2) And assuming that the answer is yes, will the map software include the UK?

    Thanks all,
     
  2. K1W1

    K1W1 iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Messages:
    271
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0
    If you are talking about the standard maps you will need 3G on to get location and map data. The way the iPad / iPod app works is that it downloads the screens as you move.

    If you have an app like TomTom where the entire map database is loaded on the iPad/iPhone then it will work without 3G or wifi turned on. You will of course need to purchase the TomTom Europe maps.
     
  3. twerppoet

    twerppoet iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    17,247
    Thanks Received:
    2,460
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Walla Walla, WA
    Ratings:
    +3,004 / 1
    NavFree is free, and has European versions, I think.
     
  4. Pocobear

    Pocobear iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    608
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia, usa
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0
    If you install apps like Navigon that have the maps downloaded to your iDevice, then you won't need 3G or wifi, unless you want to use some of the extras that are available, like searches for cafes or sites to visit. You can usually get that info locally in a tourist guide anyway. Navigon does have European maps, and I'm sure others do also.
     
  5. slothead

    slothead iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Messages:
    332
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Frederick, MD
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0
    Twerp, you didn't mention whether the NavFree needs wifi or 3G to operate. But I can go find that out myself I guess. Thanks guys.
     
  6. twerppoet

    twerppoet iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    17,247
    Thanks Received:
    2,460
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Walla Walla, WA
    Ratings:
    +3,004 / 1
    NavFree does not need Wi-Fi.
     
  7. Yarrenbool

    Yarrenbool iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Messages:
    84
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Canada
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0
    Checking the AppsStore it looked to me that TomTom was only available for the iPhone and NOT the iPad. Am I wrong? I really liked TomTom on my HP iPAQ 210 and would buy it in an instant if it there is an iPad version but not if it's just the iPhone version that is "2x" expanded to fill the iPad screen.

    Anyone using TomTom on an iPad and can give details of it?
    .
     
  8. twerppoet

    twerppoet iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    17,247
    Thanks Received:
    2,460
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Walla Walla, WA
    Ratings:
    +3,004 / 1
    Looks like TomTom does not have an iPad optimized app.

    CoPilot does. The Live Premium version is newer, and cheaper than the HD version. I'm not sure what the other differences are. I have the iPhone version, and it did ok on the one trip I've tested it with.

    The NavFree apps are universal, and should work in native mode on both iPhone and iPads.
     
  9. Mike_73

    Mike_73 iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    189
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Navfree needs an internet connection when looking up an address. Once your route has been calculated, internet isn't needed anymore.
     
  10. twerppoet

    twerppoet iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    17,247
    Thanks Received:
    2,460
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Walla Walla, WA
    Ratings:
    +3,004 / 1
    I did not know that. Operating on third hand information for NavFree. Several people were recommending it as one of the few free offline mapping programs.


    UPDATE: Just checked the app store, and according to the description the USA version ,1.9.x and above, has an offline address database. It does not say the same thing for the UK version, but it is version 1.9.1, so maybe.
     
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2011
  11. K1W1

    K1W1 iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Messages:
    271
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0
    Sorry yes. I did say "like TomTom" because I thought that would be the one most people were more likely to know about. I'm sure TomTom will eventually have an iPad optimised app.
    I have the Navfree Australia map on my iPad and it does seem to work fairly well. I had it going in the car the other day while I was a passenger and I made sure that both the wifi and 3G were turned off. It told me the correct position and speed on the road.
    I haven't tried setting a route with it.
    One of the reasons I got the iPad was to see if I could use it as an on motorcycle GPS by putting it in the map pocket of my tank bag. I think the Navfree may well do that function.
     
  12. Mike_73

    Mike_73 iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    189
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I've been using Navfree to actually get to a store. I kind of knew where the store was, so I was just testing whether or not the app is working well.
    In my opinion I found it ok. It's what you'd expect from navigational software.
    It doesn't have all the bells and whistles, but well, there are other apps for music and such.
    I'm currently downloading the US maps for my vacation.

    Navigation worked without 3G (I actually don't have a sim-card inserted as I use a mobile hotspot) and without wifi. I just needed the internet to get the route calculated.
     
  13. slothead

    slothead iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Messages:
    332
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Frederick, MD
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0
    All good reports guys, thanks. I will be in London by next Friday morning. In the meantime I have downloaded navfree and in a few minutes I will try finding destinations (from here in the US). I don't really want to wait until I get to the UK before I find locations. I won't need the directions yet, just want to save the addresses. I don't want to be forced to find a hotspot or draw data from the Net as soon as I get there.
     
  14. slothead

    slothead iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Messages:
    332
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Frederick, MD
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0
    And while navfree couldn't find my hotels (weird), it was able to make favorites of all the post codes so I'm all set. Thanks again guys.
     
  15. horace87st

    horace87st iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Appreciate the post. Thanks...
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
does gps does app work without wifi
,
does navfree work on ipad without 3g
,
gps app for ipad without 3g
,
gps without wifi for ipad
,
how does navfree work
,
how does navfree work on ipad
,

ipad gps without wifi

,
navifree needs internet connection
,
navigon australia gps need 3g
,
will ipad gps work without wifi