Dual band router

Discussion in 'iPad General Discussions' started by Streamer, Dec 21, 2015.

  1. Streamer

    Streamer
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi,

    I have a dual- band router 2.4ghz and 5ghz, problem is the 5ghz is not accepting network password. After contacting the manufacturer support, they suggested turn of security for this band, which worked!

    However, reading through various forums, this seems to be a common problem, both for iPad and iPhone.

    Does Apple have a solution for this issue.

    Streamer
     
    #1 Streamer, Dec 21, 2015
    Last edited: Dec 22, 2015
  2. giradman

    giradman
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Wizard

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    Messages:
    6,703
    Thanks Received:
    5,721
    Hello and welcome to the forum! :) For starters, you might want to provide some more information: 1) What brand/model router are you using; 2) What protection is installed, e.g. WPA2; 3) Your iDevices are an iPad & iPhone - what models/iOS versions installed; and 4) Do you have other machines, e.g. computers that connect w/ your 5 GHz band using Wi-Fi protection?

    I use an Apple AirPort Extreme dual band router and my WPA2 security works w/ both bands - turning off security seems like a poor resolution IMO - please provide answers to these questions. Dave
     
  3. Streamer

    Streamer
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi,

    I totally agree regarding security, the router is TP-Link WDR 3600, (WPA2,3)

    Devices iPad air iPhone 4s both running iOS 9.2.1 My computer is running Windows 10 Pro and has no problem with 5ghz.

    Also QNAP TS-453 which again works.

    It seems to be only associated with iPad and iPhone.
     
  4. scifan57

    scifan57
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011
    Messages:
    27,292
    Thanks Received:
    8,959
    The problem could be caused by the iOS 9.2.1 beta software you're running on your iPhone and iPad.
     
  5. Streamer

    Streamer
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    No luck rolled back to iOS 9.2 same result.
     
  6. giradman

    giradman
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Wizard

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    Messages:
    6,703
    Thanks Received:
    5,721
    Unfortunate - thought Scifan.. may have been on the right tract w/ the beta suggestion - my Wi-Fi AirPort Extreme router broadcasts 4 networks (Home & Guest @ 2.4 GHz & 5 GHz) - I use WiFi Explorer on my MBPro to evaluate my network - I have the base station to select the best band to use automatically - right now I'm on 2.4 GHz (the other is weaker out to my den). Not sure what Wi-Fi software may be available on your Windows PC to analyze signal strength and other features of your network.

    If not already done, you might want to power recycle the router and your modem to see if that has any affect - Dave :)
     

Share This Page