What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

.CSV on iPad

iPilot

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Hi Guys, new to the forum and im considering purchasing an ipad to replace my netbook.

However before I part with my cash I need to know if the iPad can do the following:

Im an Airline pilot (a real one, not an actor for an apple advert) and we legally need to keep a log of all our flights. I do this through a website which has lots of useful functions to make this often time consuming task relatively quick, and means you can update your logbook where ever in the world you maybe.

The iPad can do the above fine, however the problems come when I need to print the log for a hard copy. The website allows you to create a back up of your log, this is then displayed as TEXT on a webpage but in CSV format, so on my laptop i just copy this text then save it as a .CSV file. I then import this into Excel and create a spreadsheet to display the information I need. (its not a simple case of just displaying all the data contained in the CSV file, certain countries (im a UK pilot) require different data, different formats, and presented in different ways and excel allows me complete flexibility and allows me to add personal touches.)

Is there a way the iPad or an app can create the .csv file and then export it into iworks etc. to give me the same outcome? It maybe possible for the website to create the .csv file directly for a download, if so, would this be easier for use on an iPad?

I know there are pilot logbook apps on itunes availible for an ipad, however I dont want to purchase any of these as ive looked at them all and they are either massively overpriced or lacking certain features.

Thanks for the help!