Can't update due to backup issue

Discussion in 'iPad Help' started by laapsaap, Mar 18, 2011.

  1. laapsaap
    Offline

    laapsaap iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Tasmania
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hope you tech guys can help? Tried another thread forum no help there! The problem....want to update my iPad to 4.3 but when it starts it gives me the message unable to backup to this computer. I have 33g on the iPad and 63g free space on my laptop. So any suggestions? My iPad will sync with the current 4.2 but does not backup.:confused:
  2. Tim SPRACKLEN
    Offline

    Tim SPRACKLEN iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    15,246
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +121 / 0
    Not sure whether you're using a Mac or a PC. If it's a MacBook - Go to ~/Library/Preferences/com.apple.iTunes.plist and look for the line that reads DeviceBackupsDisabled and make sure it's set to False. You can edit the file in Property List Editor if you have it installed or in TextEdit otherwise.

    If it's a PC or this doesn't fix the problem, don't hesitate to get back to us.

    Tim
    Scotland
  3. laapsaap
    Offline

    laapsaap iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Tasmania
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hi Tim, I am using a pc running W7
  4. biobunny
    Offline

    biobunny iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Messages:
    913
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +17 / 0
    Then get a Plist editor such as Plist editor for windows.
  5. laapsaap
    Offline

    laapsaap iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Tasmania
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Duh

    whats a Plist editor and what do I do with it to slove my problem?:confused:
  6. biobunny
    Offline

    biobunny iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Messages:
    913
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +17 / 0
    I'll explain it later in let's say 10 hours because right now I'm very tired.
  7. Tim SPRACKLEN
    Offline

    Tim SPRACKLEN iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    15,246
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +121 / 0
    OK - don't worry. A PList - or properties list - is how the Apple iOS stores several parameters, including the Device Backup one I referred to in my earlier post.

    A PList Editor - there are several reputable free ones available - allow you to 'explore' and 'edit' the PList and see whether that parameter has become 'inadvertently' set to the wrong logical value.

    It's probably not a job for the faint-hearted and I'm certainly no expert myself. Maybe the other helpful poster can guide you through this. There's certainly no harm in just checking to see what that parameter is set to.

    If this suggestion doesn't work out, we'll try some other things....

    Tim
    Scotland
  8. Gabriel1
    Offline

    Gabriel1 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    17,132
    Thanks Received:
    747
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cranbrook, Kent, UK
    Ratings:
    +749 / 0
    Would a complete restore reset the plist files to the default status?

    The Archangel
  9. Tim SPRACKLEN
    Offline

    Tim SPRACKLEN iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    15,246
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +121 / 0
    I've seen a few people who have had success with a complete restore, but it's not been a 100% success rate.

    It's a fairly drastic solution too.

    Restoring iPod to factory settings

    Tim
    Scotland
  10. biobunny
    Offline

    biobunny iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Messages:
    913
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +17 / 0
    So once again a Plist editor for windows is "Plist editor for windows" (that's it's name).
  11. laapsaap
    Offline

    laapsaap iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Tasmania
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I know this and have already d/l the plist editor. What I don't know is where I go from there? I have looked in the apple and iTunes folders on my laptop but can't find any files with a plist ext.
  12. biobunny
    Offline

    biobunny iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Messages:
    913
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +17 / 0
    QuickTime on your PC uses Plists.
  13. laapsaap
    Offline

    laapsaap iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Tasmania
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Came up with a solution! Don't ask why it worked but it did. I just changed the setting to encrypt the backup and away it went, then told it to update and it updated to 4.3.1. Now all working fine with no issues so far. BTW I have a 64 g with WiFi and 3G no connection problems with either option.
  14. biobunny
    Offline

    biobunny iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Messages:
    913
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +17 / 0
    You fixed it!!!

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
can't back up ipad on computer
,

can't backup ipad to computer

,
can't complete ipad update
,
can't update ipad backup
,
cannot backup ipad to computer
,
cannot update ipad without backup
,
ipad update without backup
,
unable to backup ipad to computer
,
unable to backup ipad to this computer
,
update ipad os without backup