Cant get started - might jump off roof!

Discussion in 'iPad Help' started by dixiedean, Apr 25, 2011.

  1. dixiedean
    Offline

    dixiedean iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    england
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Thanks in anticipation for your help. I have just bought an ipad2 for my husband for his 65th birthday as we have never had an i anything and he has been complaining recently about being lapped in the technology field!
    I have charged it up, downloaded i tunes on to our main pc and connected the ipad to the usb port all as directed. The ipad comes on but just sits there with a picture of a usb lead and a thing for i tunes with a gap of about an inch and can I get it to do anything else? No zilch.
    I then tried it with our Samsung netbook via the wi fi network and would you believe it it synched all on its own! It shows it is connected ok to the wi fi network but when I open the app store it just says 'loading' but nothing loads. Similarly if I try to connect to safari or mail it just does nothing.
    So obviously either I am not doing something right or there is something missing on the computers.
    I have been generally calm but feel more suicidal this afternoon as he has been away windsurfing this easter and returns tonight. Not much of a surprise for him at the moment!
    Any help much appreciated.
    Caroline xx
  2. SweetPoison
    Offline

    SweetPoison iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    14,940
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento, California
    Ratings:
    +134 / 0
    Welcome, Caroline! Please don't jump! Someone will pop in to assist you!
  3. Gabriel1
    Offline

    Gabriel1 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    17,132
    Thanks Received:
    747
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cranbrook, Kent, UK
    Ratings:
    +749 / 0
    Just a quick thought, go into setting>wifi, you should see your router listed, click on the router then type in the WEP code when requested, once done it should always connect automatically.......the WEP code is normally on a label on your router.

    The Archangel
  4. Gabriel1
    Offline

    Gabriel1 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    17,132
    Thanks Received:
    747
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cranbrook, Kent, UK
    Ratings:
    +749 / 0
    Dixie Dean, you have to be UK based, I haven't heard that legendary name for a long time!

    The Archangel
  5. SweetPoison
    Offline

    SweetPoison iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    14,940
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento, California
    Ratings:
    +134 / 0
    Good! You got some real good help, there Caroline.:)
  6. ipfuser55
    Offline

    ipfuser55 iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Messages:
    667
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wales
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Another thought comes to mind here: Start iTunes without the iPad connected. Check to ensure you have the latest updates installed....(this should be automatic). Now go to the file menu, select preferences from the drop down menu. Hit the advanced tab, and check the radio button that statesn " don't allow devices to sync automatically"

    Now close iTunes. Connect your iPad and when found, highlight it in the left hand pane. At the bottom right of your PC screen, now click sync.

    Had this with a friends iPad a while back. Are you by any chance running windows 7 64 bit?

    Try this, and if it fails to correct the problem post back and we can return your settings to normal.

    Jeff
  7. dixiedean
    Offline

    dixiedean iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    england
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Thanks for the replies - much appreciated:
    The Archangel - yes we are from Liverpool and both long term Everton supporters and usually use dixie as our nickname even though he was before even our time! I had already put in the Wep code for the router and the ipad assures me I am connected to the wireless network but still I cant get on to the internet.
    Vintage 90 - have done what you said and at least it has got me off the first screen and connected to the wireless network. So now I am exactly the same with both computers. Could you tell me when you say close i tunes and it just goes back to my desktop where does the ipad appear and what does the sync button look like. Also what is windows 6 74 bit?
    So any further help or solutions would be greatly appreciated.
    Caroline xx
  8. ipfuser55
    Offline

    ipfuser55 iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Messages:
    667
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wales
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hi glad progress is being made. Windows is the operating system installed on your PC. You might have a mac, in which case ignore the comment.

    64 and 32 bit versions of windows exist, and require different drivers and iTunes versions, but this should be automatically detected.

    Now let's see if I can find you a picture of the iTunes screen:

    http://www.google.co.uk/#hl=en&sour...aqi=g5g-v5&aql=&oq=&pbx=1&fp=d64b6a287175f884

    Click on each picture, you will see the sync item at the bottom right of the iTunes screen. This is used to transfer data from your PC to your iPad. Browse the other pictures as they may help too, but the best way is to have a look at what each tab and file item does in iTunes before you start syncing...... You can end up with lots of things you don't really need or want on your iPad.

    To avoid this, you select the folders in which the music, photo''s etc. Are stored, and untick the folders you don't want copied.

    iTunes will automatically backup your purchased apps and music.

    Hope this helps you along!

    Jeff
  9. Gabriel1
    Offline

    Gabriel1 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    17,132
    Thanks Received:
    747
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cranbrook, Kent, UK
    Ratings:
    +749 / 0
    Everton eh, you should come on over to the UK thread and we can discuss the pros and cons of Phil Neville at length!

    The Archangel
  10. dixiedean
    Offline

    dixiedean iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    england
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hi Jeff
    Thanks for the reply - I must be stupid because I cannot find the sync button. At the bottom right on itunes is only a tab to open Genius and one of a flower that doesnt do anything. Anyway the ipad seems to be synced but wont open on the internet at all. I would have thought my main PC which is connected to Virgin broadband would have worked but obviously something is wrong. My husband wasnt impressed that I had spent £500 on something that wont work!
    Thanks
    Caroline xx
  11. ipfuser55
    Offline

    ipfuser55 iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Messages:
    667
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wales
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Are you by any chance looking at iTunes on your iPad, and not the PC? The sync button only works on the PC installed copy of iTunes, and when your iPad is connected to the computer via the USB cable.

    Jeff
  12. ipfuser55
    Offline

    ipfuser55 iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Messages:
    667
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wales
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    If you are on the PC, remember to plug in your iPad, wait until it is displayed in the left hand pane, highlight it with your mouse, then look to the bottom right of your PC screen. It Must be there!!

    Jeff
  13. akintomide
    Offline

    akintomide iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    161
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Erith United Kingdom
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I remember this happened to me in 2008 when I bought my first ipod. I was lucky my brother had used its iphone on the PC. We had to use his PC to power up my ipod. I was really going to return the toy as no good, lol. How I wish Apple should just allow its products to just start on its own without leaning on itunes or any PC? Just a wish.

    Sent from my iPad using iPF
  14. Sjwred
    Offline

    Sjwred iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    108
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wiltshire GBR
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    UK thread ?
    P.S justice for the 96
  15. ipfuser55
    Offline

    ipfuser55 iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Messages:
    667
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wales
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    So True

    I had the same problem with my Ipad1. Took it out of the box, admired it's design, looked for a manual? err....No. it's the little card telling you to download itunes and proceed from there. Didn't read it, considering myself to be an IT whizz, switched on, just the usb connection icon. I thought the device was faulty until I read the card.

    We live and learn.....:D
  16. dixiedean
    Offline

    dixiedean iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    england
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Thanks Jeff and all you guys. I have tried all that to no effect. For some reason the ipad is not being recognised by my pc. My husband is in a bit of a strop and is going to take it to the Apple shop this week so I feel a bit humiliated for trying to do a good deed. C'est la vie.
    Sjwred - there will never be any justice for the 96. We lost a good friend in that disaster and there have been so many cover ups mainly by people like Richards who has just got more and more powerful over the years although he was a failed businessman. Football is so corrupt now I dont know why we bother. Lies lies and more lies but no justice. I just hope that these guys get their come uppance but it may not be till they get to the pearly gates.
    Thanks again everyone - I will post the answer later in the week!
    Caroline xx
  17. ipfuser55
    Offline

    ipfuser55 iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Messages:
    667
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wales
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I hope you get it sorted, It does sound as though you may have been unlucky and got a duff one. Apple will swap it without any hassle at all. Let us know how you get on....It really is worth persevering with, you will love it when it's up and running!

    Jeff

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

i have bought an i pad and cant get connected