Can I buy an iPad 2 in the US and use in the UK?

Discussion in 'iPad 2 Forum' started by stepers1, Aug 9, 2011.

  1. stepers1

    stepers1 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    stepers@gmail.com
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I'm hoping someone can answer my question.

    I'm travelling to the US shortly and plan to return with an iPad 2. I will I be ok to use it in the UK. For example will I be able to use my existing UK iTunes account?

    Any advice would be gratefully received,

    Thanks
     
  2. Kaykaykay

    Kaykaykay iPad Wizard

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    6,971
    Thanks Received:
    443
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +443 / 0
    Yes
     
  3. Gabriel1

    Gabriel1 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    17,096
    Thanks Received:
    746
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cranbrook, Kent, UK
    Ratings:
    +748 / 0
    Hi there and welcome.

    Yes, it'll be fine to use over here, you may need to get a new plug adaptor though for charging.

    There is lots of good advice and info on here plus plenty of members all too willing to help with any problems.

    Remember, search is your friend.......and please don't forget to read the rules http://www.ipadforums.net/forum-rules-help-info/2119-forum-rules-everybody-please-read.html & hacking section rules for all you jail breakers (and would be jail breakers) http://www.ipadforums.net/ipad-hacking/2892-hacking-section-rules-please-read.html

    The Archangel
     
  4. DefBref

    DefBref iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Messages:
    978
    Thanks Received:
    53
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Egremont
    Ratings:
    +53 / 0
    The only caveat is don't buy the verizon one if your wanting to use 3g outside of the USA.

    THe verizon version is CDMA and doesn't support SIM cards so you would have no possibility of 3g in the EU. Doesn't matter if you only getting the wifi version tho.
     
  5. Mickey330

    Mickey330 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11,629
    Thanks Received:
    1,867
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Western NY state (USA)
    Ratings:
    +2,065 / 0
    Just to elaborate on what DefBref pointed out. You need to buy the AT&T version of the iPad (not the Verizon one). That's because they have different chips - and the Verizon CDMA one only works in the US and parts of Canada, AFAIK.

    The AT&T one is good world-wide.

    Oh, and we've not received any definite word - but some people have reported problems with their 3G AT&T iPads if they don't activate them in the USA first. One poster said everything worked fine ... but we never got details. Just a caution...

    Of course, if you're only getting a WiFi-only version, then never mind. :eek:

    Hope you have a good trip and a good visit here.

    Marilyn
     
  6. SweetPoison

    SweetPoison iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    14,913
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento, California
    Ratings:
    +134 / 0
    Excellent post!
     
  7. sumnerpn

    sumnerpn iPF Noob

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I bought my IPad in the USA it works fine in the UK including my iTunes account. Then only thing you will need is a US to UK plug.
     
  8. stepers1

    stepers1 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    stepers@gmail.com
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Thanks for your help guys!
     
  9. HughB

    HughB iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Canmore, AB. Canada
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Was this an AT&T which is GSM?

    Reason I ask is because when I bought my iPad in Canada I asked specifically whether I needed to buy one for Rogers (they use GSM). the Apple guy said they are all unlocked so it wouldn't matter if I put a CDMA SIM in or a GSM card. There is no difference in the internals to the iPad just the sim card.
    I got the Roger's one just in case and was able to switch it out for a Vodafone Sim in Iceland for $16 $CA for one month's service.

    This does fly in the face of what we've heard on this board so it would be good to get real world experience.
    Hugh
     
  10. thewitt

    thewitt iPad Ninja

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1,634
    Thanks Received:
    72
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +79 / 0
     
  11. Tim SPRACKLEN

    Tim SPRACKLEN iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    15,236
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +121 / 1
    Please remember, too, when you're comparing US and UK prices of the iPad that you'll be required to pay Import Duty and 20% VAT when you return to the UK with the iPad purchased in the US. This makes US prices look far less attractive.

    Tim
     
  12. HughB

    HughB iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Canmore, AB. Canada
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
     
  13. thewitt

    thewitt iPad Ninja

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1,634
    Thanks Received:
    72
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +79 / 0
    Currently CDMA phones to not use a SIM card. The R-UIM technology that was developed in China to allow CDMA phones to use a SIM card has never been adopted.

    If you have a SIM card it's for a GSM network.

    The CDMA chip set is different from the GSM chip set in the phone itself.

    There is some speculation that the iPhone 5 (maybe 6) will be dual radio supporting both GSM and CDMA with a programmable SIM card internal to the phone.

    -t
     
  14. stepers1

    stepers1 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    stepers@gmail.com
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Personally I was planning on just buying a wi-fi version and using the iPhone wi-fi hotspot function to get access to the web.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
can i buy an ipad in the us and use it in the uk
,
can i buy an ipad in the usa and use it in the uk?
,
can i use my ipad air purchased in america in the uk
,
can you use ipad bought in usa in uk
,

verizon cdma ipad2 outside us