2 iPads (3G) One Account

Discussion in 'iPad Help' started by fgcook, Mar 15, 2011.

  1. fgcook

    fgcook
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I just bought my second iPad -(good deal on the first model). I intend to use one for work and one for play (my wife will probably do most of the playing). I went to set up the data plan and it just sees the plan I already have for iPad #1. Do I need another plan or will it work on both (maybe at the same times on occasion)?
     
  2. Tim SPRACKLEN

    Tim SPRACKLEN
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    15,236
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Good to hear from you. You’ll find a whole bunch of iPad enthusiasts in this Forum who are only too willing to help other iPad owners and to hear of their experiences. Don’t be afraid to post any questions you may have or use the ‘Search’ button near the top of the Forum web page. I usually find I discover one new interesting and useful piece of information about my iPad every day - and often not even what I was looking for!!

    You have posted an interesting data plan question. Maybe some of the US Forum members can help with this one. Are you on AT&T or Verizon? You say that your second iPad 'sees' the first data plan, so I wonder whether you've tried using this iPad on 3G yet?

    Hope to hear from you soon with your thoughts about the iPad.

    Have fun and enjoy your iPad


    If you don’t already have it you can download a copy of the iPad manual for free from


    http://manuals.info.apple.com/en_US/...User_Guide.pdf

    Also the iPad2 manual is available at the Apple iBooks store. It’s free too.

    Tim
    Scotland
     
  3. xune

    xune
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Messages:
    416
    Thanks Received:
    3
    You can insert a SIM from other devices.. For example: your other iPad or your iPhone, and it will use the data you're already paying for, without having to pay twice. This may not be the best plan to swap your iphone's SIM, as it also handles your voice, but is probably not a bad idea to SIM swap between iPads.
     
  4. fgcook

    fgcook
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    AT&T and it Works!

    Both iPads are AT&T and they both seem to work off the network (same data plan) just fine. I had to shut off the WIFI so that I knew they were seeing the 3G and I browsed to different (new sites to avoid any cache issues) and they work! I like this, I did not want to maintain two different accounts and all the stuff that comes with it. It makes sense on ATT side as well as they are selling data streaming by the measure not connection, so they are serving more data now as well - getting paid more or appropriately.


    Another issue (maybe I should break this out in a new thread but actually don't have the time. Being new to this forum I downloaded the Forum iPad app. Once loaded I went to reply to your messages and the iPad would faithfully fill in the Title but in this box I was not able to type or write anything? I even started and restarted the whole iPad without success so had to wait to get to a real deal computer to write this. Whats up with that?"
     
  5. twerppoet

    twerppoet
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    19,447
    Thanks Received:
    4,301
    This sounds like a problem another user had. If I remember right it turned out that he had not signed into the forum with the app. Once he was logged in everything worked.

    The login/logout icon is at the bottom of the screen. Looks like a key.
     
  6. fbizzell

    fbizzell
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    2 ipads on single data plan?

    How were you able to do that. I want to do the same thing--use my new ipad2 and my original ipad on the same data plan. How did you get the
    original data plan onto your new ipad2?
     
  7. BrennB

    BrennB
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,278
    Thanks Received:
    6
    I'm curious too... to the OP did you try using both ipads at the same time on the 3g service? And am I understanding that you did not swap sims to accomplish this... therefore using both ipads simultaneously.... so did you simply "sign in" to your account on the new ipad?
     
  8. fbizzell

    fbizzell
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    2 ipads on single data plan

    I just talked with AT&T and they said no way can you use the same data plan on 2 different ipads.
     
  9. KJSmitty

    KJSmitty
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Messages:
    141
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Attempted this myself yesterday with no luck. This was while starting up a new iPad and initial AT&T setup which required me to input all new info to include a different email than our other iPad ....? Good thing I had an extra.

    I wonder however if,,,, when you perform a "restore" on a 3G model - I know it doesn't ask for all of your info for 3G, only your account login. I wonder if you entered the same login info as the other 3G at that point if both would link/share a connection (inadvertently-unknown to AT&T :) )

    Hmmmmm
     
  10. DJP1984

    DJP1984
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Thanks Received:
    0
    is ipad can tether 3g to other ipad without pay 3g 2 data plan via wifi.. to (1) 3g.

    ie.
    other switch off 1 of 3g data plan that via wifi to one of 3g active.... it might trick work.... as iphone do can 3g tether to wifi model ipad. i thought worth to try use it trick..

    i am not geek wizard.

    let me if my trick are work...
     

Share This Page



Search tags for this page

2 ipads on one account

,
2 ipads 2 3g accounts
,
accounts page on ipad 2
,
connecting 2 ipads to one verizon account
,
i have 2 ipads one account
,
on family plan for at and t, can you put two ipads on the same data plan
,
one account on two ipads
,
two ipads on one account
,

two ipads one account

,
two ipads useing one veiizon acoount