What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Transferring Pics and Video

David Goodier

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Website
www.dg-weddings.com
Hi guys, new here and I think you've answered my query but just to confirm...

I'm a photographer and I want several photo folders for full Weddings, example portfolio images and album designs & layouts (all of which I intend to show large on a tv too - got the cable, not tried it yet)

Does Photo Transfer answer my needs?

Cheers

Dave

accordlayingkit

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Thats why i like this forum, has the best members with good expertise. I didnt know about the ability to save to the local iPad drive. So once thats done are the images viewable in the photo albums?

Thx - chris

Bmac228 - there is really no easy solution for this. Due to apple's proprietary approach to development everything must be done via iTunes. There some useless exceptions to this rule such as Airshare, however using airshare doesnt allow the images to be viewed in the photo library, onlynfrom the airshare app. This is the only exception i am aware of that provides an alternative to iTunes.

Dropbox, iDisk, google docs are all cloud applications which provide access to those cloud files on their servers via the app you download. So, you never have a local copy of the file on your mobile device. In answer to your question, you cannot save a local copy of the images via those apps such as dropbox.

You have stumbled onto the same frustration that i experience. iTunes is a royal pain to work with. For apple to be so successful in selling mobile devices they have certainly not provided a simple user interface to accomplish such mundane tasks as moving and copying files.