What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

New member - seeking advice before buying new iPad

robnet77

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Hello,
I'm new here.

I work in IT but have never used an Apple product before, however I happen to be in the market for a tablet...
At first I was only considering Android devices, as I was told there were many limitations with iPads, but then I realized most Android tablets were low quality, especially when it comes to the screen.

I could recently compare an iPad 2 with an iPad 3 (new iPad, I know...) and the latter is so much better in terms of readability of text (e.g. magazines).
I would use the iPad for many purposes, like watching tv series, reading magazines, surfing the web, playing the occasional game (no FPS probably), possibly using maps offline.

Now, the iPad 3 price puts me off buying it but, having read about some tricks to expand its storage, I might go for the 16GB, wi-fi only, version (this would be as much as my wallet can afford).

- My main doubt is:
if I buy an iPad 3 now, assuming it comes with ios 6, will I be able to downgrade it and then jailbreak it?

- Also, what do you think the iPad 4 will bring to the table next year? is it worth waiting for upcoming announcements from Apple? I tend to believe the iPad 3 is a good choice, future proof wise, but I'm no expert!

thanks in advance :)

janner43

iPF Novice
Reaction score
Well I have just bought a 3rd gen iPad & it is the best tablet I have owned & as you can see from my signature, that is a fair few. :)

As far as downgrading and then Jailbreaking - the answer to that is no. If it comes with iOS6 you will be stuck with it.