What's new
Apple iPad Forum

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Ipad -Important note deleted accidentally.. need urgent help to recover

imrock

iPF Noob
Joined
Dec 26, 2011
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Location
UAE
Hi, i created an important note on my new ipad.. i accidentally selected all data on that note and hit the "8" key.. all the data was replaced by "8".. as i didnt know how to undo, i opened a new note and the old note vanished..PLEASE.. advise on how i can recover that note!! many Thanks in advance!!!
 

Mickey330

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 30, 2010
Messages
11,892
Reaction score
2,225
Location
Western NY state (USA)
To chime in with the others, yes, UNDO was your only option.

For the future: To undo, press the .?123 key on the left side of the keyboard. An undo button will show about in the same place. Pressing that will undo any actions. Do note that it will undo all the way back, in steps. So, if you delete something in one step, it'll undelete it. Then, if you press undo, the step you did before the delete will be undone.

For example, I typed "test test test." Then, I highlighted the last two "tests" and hit the delete key. Then, I pressed the undo key and the two words came back. Then, I pressed undo again and all the words disappeared (which was the last action I performed before the delete...typing the three words).

Hope that made sense. Oh, and do remember, there is no REdo key. It's undo or nothing. And, if you leave the note before applying the undo, it won't work.

Sorry this is too late for your situation - but maybe this info will help in the future.

Marilyn
 

Rising_Son

iPF Noob
Joined
Jul 20, 2012
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Location
Surrey, UK
Hi - first of all, since all things are possible to those that believe, IF your note was ever saved to the ipad (meaning you didn't lose the note before it was ever titled & saved by the notes app) you could potentially have a data recovery specialist locate & recover the data. Depends on how much you value that content...

Secondly, perhaps it was not possible in older versions of iOS, but in the version i'm running—iOS 5.1.1, non-jailbroken—you can undo an action as described above, but you can also redo. Simply press the .?123 key, then the #+= key and, voila!, undo has turned to redo which can also be applied in stages. Hope that helps!
 

Moray

iPF Noob
Joined
Jan 27, 2012
Messages
31
Reaction score
1
Location
France
Mickey330 said:
To chime in with the others, yes, UNDO was your only option.

For the future: To undo, press the .?123 key on the left side of the keyboard. An undo button will show about in the same place. Pressing that will undo any actions. Do note that it will undo all the way back, in steps. So, if you delete something in one step, it'll undelete it. Then, if you press undo, the step you did before the delete will be undone.

For example, I typed "test test test." Then, I highlighted the last two "tests" and hit the delete key. Then, I pressed the undo key and the two words came back. Then, I pressed undo again and all the words disappeared (which was the last action I performed before the delete...typing the three words).

Hope that made sense. Oh, and do remember, there is no REdo key. It's undo or nothing. And, if you leave the note before applying the undo, it won't work.

Sorry this is too late for your situation - but maybe this info will help in the future.

Marilyn

This reminds me of a true story from The early days of graphical interfaces. There was a computer that could be in two modes, EDIT or RUN. Unfortunately there was no indication of which mode you were in. If you were in RUN and you typed EDIT , you entered EDIT mode. But if you were already in EDIT mode, then typing EDIT was interpreted as Everything - Delete - Insert - T. The result was to wipe your entire programme and print the letter "T" in the top left hand corner of the screen.

npm
 

Mickey330

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 30, 2010
Messages
11,892
Reaction score
2,225
Location
Western NY state (USA)
This reminds me of a true story from The early days of graphical interfaces. There was a computer that could be in two modes, EDIT or RUN. Unfortunately there was no indication of which mode you were in. If you were in RUN and you typed EDIT , you entered EDIT mode. But if you were already in EDIT mode, then typing EDIT was interpreted as Everything - Delete - Insert - T. The result was to wipe your entire programme and print the letter "T" in the top left hand corner of the screen.

npm

Oh, but that's too funny!

Not necessarily to the person running it - but to me, yes!

Good thing that programming (and interfaces) have improved, yes?

Thanks for this anecdote.

Marilyn
 

Most reactions

Latest posts

Top