What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

iPad and Flash

Status
Not open for further replies.

Evelyn.TME

iPF Noob
Reaction score
So I have owned my iPad for ten months now. I have found it to have many wonderful and amazingly useful features. I am a college student and the ability to write my notes electronically in a multitude of apps has been revolutionary for me.

Even better has been the ability to get my textbooks in an electronic format. As a science major, the textbooks are huge and heavy and I already have back problems which are only aggravated by carrying them around. Most recently, I searched for a textbook and found that an etextbook version came with the website subscription that was needed for the homework in our class, so I thought this was an amazing deal; everything in one.

I was wrong.

The website has a wonderfully interactive etextbook but it runs on Flash. As everyone knows, iPad doesn't support Flash. So there I was, suddenly defeated by the lack of this simple program which Apple had said many times wasn't an issue for users.

But it is an issue for this user. And not just this one instance. There have been many instances where I have attempted to access a website on my iPad only to be turned away because it required Flash. It has been frustrating, and more than once resulted in a major problem for me.