What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

I'm new to all this iPad stuff.

Mialily

iPF Noob
Reaction score
I'm new to all this iPad stuff so bear with me. First off I'm still trying to decide if I need a laptop or a tablet (prefer iPad2). My husband & I only need something for traveling to surf the web and to download pictures.This will only be used for pleasure. We have a desktop for to do the important things we need. So I would like some feed back on what would be the best device for our use.

andysmfc

iPF Noob
Reaction score
If your only surfing the web and downloading pictures then the iPad is definitely what you want I've had mine about a week and love it, I use it for many things , downloading from the web being one of them and i can't fault it at all. Great piece of kit...

Jaeme

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Well with iPad there is the added cost for 3G, you will need this for traveling. I just got into the world of iPad myself. It's really a neat device, but it does have limitations.

I would think if you are downloading pictures and want to share with your home computer, a laptop would do this easier than the iPad. The iPad has no removable storage, but there are apps available that will assist in transfering files. This is just one minor thing I pointed out. Overall im enjoying the iPad 2. I think so far the good outweighs the bad.

Oh yea the iPads don't support flash, again there are work arounds.

I would suggest you get the ipad and if it doesnt fit your needs, take it back get the laptop.
Hope that helps

j

giradman

iPad Fan
Reaction score
Hi Mialily - first, welcome to the forum! :) Plenty of information is already available, so 'search' is your friend!