What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

How to upgrade from jailbroken 3.2.2 to 4.2.1?

Reaction score
If I upgrade with iTunes it'll upgrade to 4.3, so how do I go from 3.2.2 to 4.2.1? Also, will I need to jb again, and if so, how? Thanks! :)

Pocobear

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Where are you guys? I just checked in iTunes and the latest is 4.2.1 here in the USA. iOS4.3 is in beta 3 and not release as far as I know. I am a developer want-to-be,(it's harder than I thought), I have iOS 4.3b3 as the latest version and haven't been notified that it's out of beta yet by Apple Dev Team.

samhail

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Can i clarify one thing...

I have 3.2 jailbroken now with what ever apps/hack i have installed
I want to upgrade to 4.2.1.
If i upgrade through itunes will i loose all the stuff i have put on my ipad ?
is it as simple as upgrading, then running the jailbreak and syncing with itunes again ?

Pocobear

iPF Noob
Reaction score
I just did this myself, yesterday. Yes you will lose all your jailbreak apps. So, first look at all your Cydia apps and write them down. Then go to Cydia and look in the new "Manage" icon on the Cydia homepage, and check and see if all the paid apps you have are listed there. Some may be missing, but when you go to download them it will say they have already been paid for. Remember to think about the apps that have no icon and write them down, also. Keep in mind that you will probably want to use some of the newer apps rather than the older ones, not 4.x compatible.