What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Control DSLR wired with ipad

butterflies

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Hello,
I cannot find an app that would allow me to control a DSLR through USB or HDMI! I find this a bit strange, because the android market has even more than one. So please no wifi based solutions. I am a nature photographer.
Does somebody know an app that operates a DSLR. Aperture, exposure, shutterspeed, focus control, live view etc?
Thanks,
Rob

Redneck_Randy

iPF Novice
Reaction score
I went to the app store and searched for DSLR, I got several hits. Might try that

OP
B

butterflies

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Yes, ofcourse i did that, checking the app store. All you find there are systems that need a pc as a bridge between iPad and camera. Besides, you need a wifi network. Are there no nature photographers on this forum. There is no wifi out there in the field. I just want to connect my iPad with a cable to my camera and CONTROL it, just like with this android app:

https://market.android.com/details?id=eu.chainfire.dslrcontroller&hl=en

Does somebody know if something like this is being developped?

twerppoet

iPad Fan
Reaction score
Nothing I've been able to find.

Hold in mind there is no USB port on the iPad, and the CCK (Camera Connection Kit) which supplies one (sort of) has limited current, and iOS supports very limited USB function.

I can not think of any practical solution at this time; though I admit I am only a casual amateur. There may be solutions that have slid under my radar.

OP
B

butterflies

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Many thanks for your research.