1. Due to the recent site upgrade, the iPadForums (iPF) App will no longer work. The new iPadForums.net website has been designed from the ground up to work perfectly from any mobile, tablet, or desktop computer using the built in internet browser. Create a shortcut to iPadForums.net on your home screen by following these steps: Create an icon for iPadForums.net

WiFi connectivity: WEP vs WAP (and neither works)

Discussion in 'iPad Help' started by LeeB, Jul 10, 2010.

  1. LeeB
    Offline

    LeeB iPF Novice

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Land O Lakes, FL
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    First off, the only WiFi I have is Verizon FIOS. I have it at home, at work, and at my boss's house. I haven't tried hotspots, so I'm not sure how that reacts.

    The problem is the iPad won't remember the password for the WiFi. Worse, now it won't even connect. Originally, the router was set up for WEP; Apple Support said they were having problems with Verizon, change the router to WAP, which was done. But now it's worse than it was with WEP. The only GOOD thing is that the WAP password is easier to remember than the WEP :rolleyes: .

    This is happening on all 3 of the iPads we're using. It's gotten so bad (with the pop-ups), I had to shut off WiFi and work off 3g. Apple Support doesn't seem to have the answer, so I thought the good people here might be able to offer a work-around?
  2. Bremen
    Offline

    Bremen iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,352
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    home
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0
    Have you tried without WEP or WAP? I use Mac address filtering and have zero problems.... but then again I'm not on Verizon...
  3. MikesTooLz
    Offline

    MikesTooLz Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,364
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    Ratings:
    +20 / 0
    Thats a bad idea as far as security goes. Would only take a minute or two to gain access to your network with only MAC filtering on.



    It may be the access points that Verizon is providing that are doing something strange. You may want to look into turning off your Verizon wifi and purchasing a new wifi router or access point for about $30
  4. Hasty
    Offline

    Hasty iPad Ninja

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,282
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Location
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0
    I know Mac is crap security but then my neighbours ain't that bright :)

    That said wep can also be cracked if they really want to.

    Security is only relative and I wouldn't trust any of mine........
  5. LeeB
    Offline

    LeeB iPF Novice

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Land O Lakes, FL
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Because I'm using FIOS (a fiber optic system), I don't think I have the option of bypassing Verizon's router. The operational phrase is "I don't think": I'll have to call them and ask, I guess.
  6. Bremen
    Offline

    Bremen iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,352
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    home
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0

    So true... Any security can easily be beaten by those who know how. I went to Mac filtering after I realized the School district I was working for used it, with great success. It was their only security for 12 campuses and over 40 WIFI access points.... only 1 time in the 8 years I was there was it breached (they knew by logs and such) and they quickly cut that one off.....

    I think it would be safe to say 95% of people don't even know what a Mac address is..... much less a spoofer.....
  7. MikesTooLz
    Offline

    MikesTooLz Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,364
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    Ratings:
    +20 / 0
    What you do is leave your Verizon Router in place for FIOS.
    Turn WIFI on the Verizon router off.
    Connect the new router to one of the eithernet cable ports on the Verizon router. Example: computer port 1 on new router would connect to computer port 1 on verizon router and they would then communicate and share internet.

    So your new wifi router then gets internet access from your Vernon router and allows your wireless devices to connect with this new, better wifi router.
  8. dearbee
    Offline

    dearbee iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I tried to turn off wifi on my verizon fios actiontec router by plugging in my laptop to the router by wire, typing 192.168.1.1 which got me into the verizon site. Username: admin and tried password and password1 but both failed. I also noticed that I could not manually type in the password as every keystroke I made it was like 4 or 5 characters were being entered.

    Anyway I simply copied and pasted the password into the password field but all I got was fail message. Is it possible that the verizon technician who installed it changed the password?
  9. MikesTooLz
    Offline

    MikesTooLz Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,364
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    Ratings:
    +20 / 0
    yeah the default username should be admin and the default password should be password. However the tech may have set it to something else like password1 or admin.

    try the usernam/passwrod admin/admin

    if the router they provided is a D-Link you can try the username admin and leave the password blank.

    If all else fails you can always hold the reset button on the router and reset the router to factory settings and the password will go back to password.

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
does ipad support wap wireless
,
does ipad use wap
,
howtoset wap on ipad?
,
ipad isn't working on wap
,
ipad picking up att wap settings
,

ipad wap

,
ipad wap settings
,
ipad wifi connection wap?
,
ipad won't connect to wep
,
ipad won't connect using verizon wep id
,
ipad wont connect dlink wep or wap
,
my ipad wont show wap on wifi router
,
problems with atv 1st gen after new wap wifi
,
trouble finding wap with ipad
,

wap .in

,
wap settings ipad
,

wep .in

,

wep vs wap

,
wep vs waps
,
which wap works best with ipad