1. Due to the recent site upgrade, the iPadForums (iPF) App will no longer work. The new iPadForums.net website has been designed from the ground up to work perfectly from any mobile, tablet, or desktop computer using the built in internet browser. Create a shortcut to iPadForums.net on your home screen by following these steps: Create an icon for iPadForums.net

What am I doing wrong ?

Discussion in 'iPad General Discussions' started by Mr.Wolfskill, Dec 22, 2012.

  1. Mr.Wolfskill
    Offline

    Mr.Wolfskill iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bethany ok
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Okay, first off, I bought a I-Pad II with last years taxes, got a 16 gig wifi unit and for the most part I love it, but. . . It is frustrating me at times.

    Now for the what's up. I will be logged into a site ( usually vannin.com ) and trying to post a reply to a question that requires a link or two to answer, so I open a second tab and open the page I need to link there. Copy the address and go back to my reply on vannin.com, only to find that everything I had posted is gone, or even more often, that I am now back at the homepage, not the thread I was working on. . . . . Grrrrr!

    So, as asked in the title, what am I doing wrong? Why can I not swap from tab to tab with out loosing the work I was doing there ?
  2. AQ_OC
    Offline

    AQ_OC Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    6,418
    Thanks Received:
    430
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    SC
    Ratings:
    +430 / 0
    I have noticed this behavior too. I usually save my post, get my link, return to the post, and then edit it to paste in the link. Don't know if that works in every forum, but it seems to work for the forums infrequent.
  3. Fid
    Offline

    Fid iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011
    Messages:
    500
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Hinterlands of Northern California
    Ratings:
    +32 / 0
    I, too, have noticed this. It is like there is not enough space in the cache memory so the data needs to be reloaded.
    When I am working on getting the wording just right or have to go to another area to copy and paste something I now expect the text to disappear. I copy the text I am working on and paste it into a note in the Notes app. Then I can add to it after going to get some more text or a URL. When I am ready to post the message I copy it from the Notes app page and paste it into the web form. It works for me since I was getting so tired of having to retype what I was wanting to say.
  4. LannyC
    Offline

    LannyC iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2012
    Messages:
    1,048
    Thanks Received:
    309
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    St. Louis, USA
    Ratings:
    +322 / 0
    I believe this is a limitation of Safari--try using a different browser. In Mercury, I can start a post, open a new tab, copy stuff, and return to the first tab where my partially-typed post is still intact. I also like how Mercury lets me change the default font size, view sites full screen, and use gestures to navigate.

    milliHelen: amount of beauty required to launch one ship.
  5. col.bris
    Offline

    col.bris Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    5,513
    Thanks Received:
    404
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Brisbane , Queensland Australia
    Ratings:
    +437 / 0
    It is difficult on an iPad 2 due to memory restrictions however iPad 3 and the new 4 generation works fine
    Even then with long posts here I actually use notability app as a centre point before I post.. If you have the same information to post like some of our mods do in the welcome section, you can use the auto abbreviation feature in iOS by creating your own personal list then just use a couple of letters to post it...


    Hope that helps

    Col.bris. administrator
  6. Kaykaykay
    Offline

    Kaykaykay iPad Wizard

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    6,973
    Thanks Received:
    441
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +441 / 0
    That's been my experience, too. My iPad 1 usually fails to save my forum response after I've opened another tab to grab a link. My iPad 2 has the same prob, but fails much less frequently. My iPad 4 doesn't seem to have this prob, at least not yet. I figure the older the iPad, the more likely its age (and hardware limitations) show.
  7. skimonkey
    Online

    skimonkey Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    18,391
    Thanks Received:
    942
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Michigan. USA
    Ratings:
    +961 / 0
    Is this dependent on how many tabs are open on your ipad2, Kaykaykay? I have had to limit my tabs to maybe 3-4, anything more at times seems to get a little hay wire. I also find too, that its based on how many apps are open also. So closing the apps seems to help.
  8. Kaykaykay
    Offline

    Kaykaykay iPad Wizard

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    6,973
    Thanks Received:
    441
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +441 / 0
    I'm anal about closing apps, so that's not a likely contender in my use. I do like to have many browser tabs open, though. Thing is, that wasn't a prob when each iPad was new. As firmware upgrades, I figure it's a case of limited resources (iPad hardware) being increasingly taxed, and it just takes less and less from other demands (like having multiple tabs or apps open) to bring things crashing down.
  9. skimonkey
    Online

    skimonkey Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    18,391
    Thanks Received:
    942
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Michigan. USA
    Ratings:
    +961 / 0
    I agree with you, because I have noticed that with the update to 6.0, crashes, while infrequent did occur after that. Now, I just make it a habit to close things out and do the regular maintenance to my iPad. So far so good!
  10. Kaykaykay
    Offline

    Kaykaykay iPad Wizard

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    6,973
    Thanks Received:
    441
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +441 / 0
    Yes, depending on how each owner uses an iPad, maintenance can help us squeeze out more time before having to upgrade hardware.

    I started telling myself that my iPad 1 was becoming my Zen iPad -- I have to be in the moment and be very aware, and have patience, while using it, lol. Of course, I'm usually not feeling Zen and just want things to work RIGHT NOW, lol.
  11. skimonkey
    Online

    skimonkey Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    18,391
    Thanks Received:
    942
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Michigan. USA
    Ratings:
    +961 / 0
    Haha...your zen iPad! I do like that and hope that I, too will achieve zen when the time comes for me! :)
  12. dreamerdonkey
    Offline

    dreamerdonkey iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2012
    Messages:
    59
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    bangladesh
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Its happen because I pad II have low cash memory. And if I guess correct I think you are using safari browser. Try to use different browser. Where you can change the amount of cash memory. I have the same problem. I just change my browser. And problem solve. Right now I am using Opera MINI. This browser is incredible. You can give it a try. Hope this help you :D.
  13. melinda48
    Offline

    melinda48 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I have never heard of Mercury. I have safari and Chrome. What features does Mercury have that makes it as good as or better?
  14. skimonkey
    Online

    skimonkey Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    18,391
    Thanks Received:
    942
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Michigan. USA
    Ratings:
    +961 / 0
    Thanks, Dreamerdonkey...so far the Safari browser along with the regular maintenance things help, but will certainly keep your tip in mind. :)
  15. Mr.Wolfskill
    Offline

    Mr.Wolfskill iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bethany ok
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Thank you one and all, some GREAT info here, I am glad I found this site ! I think I will really like it here. . . . .:D

Share This Page