Undo cydia jailbreak

Discussion in 'iPad Hacking' started by vassili, Aug 15, 2011.

  1. vassili

    vassili iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hi,

    I want to undo the Cydia jailbreak on my iPad 2 but when I try to restore using iTunes I get a pop-up message saying that my device software details will be sent to apple before the restore operation can proceed.

    Won't this result in loss of warranty on my iPad? It's less than one month old and I definitely don't want to risk that
    Please advise how to undo the jailbreak without impacting the warranty, thanks.
     
  2. peled

    peled iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Messages:
    890
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Israel
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
  3. SweetPoison

    SweetPoison iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    14,913
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento, California
    Ratings:
    +134 / 0
    It really said that?
     
  4. Bingoldsby

    Bingoldsby iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    Messages:
    272
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0
    I have also made an interesting (to me) discovery. After reading the immediate above commment about info being sent to Apple, I decided to hook up to iTunes and sync the pad and phone. In the process I did something I hadn't done before (I don't use iTunes very much - just to sync and backup) ... I clicked on the "Apps" page, and lo and behold, I see screen-shots of every screen, showing all the JB app icons and all.

    It seems like Apple could easily grab those shots, or otherwise find revealing information about the state of an individuals iDevice without too much trouble. Perhaps there's privacy issues safeguarding us against them doing that without our permission, but still... who knows what they're fetching from us.

    Brian - Sent from my iPad using iPF
     
  5. f4780y

    f4780y Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,106
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Troon, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +636 / 0
    Just ignore the message and press restore. Your iPad2 will be restored to factory fresh 4.3.5 and your warranty is intact. Nothing to worry about.

    The message is because iTunes has detected a log file and want to send it off to Apple for analysis. Honestly, you can just ignore it.
     
  6. graywolf

    graywolf iPad Super Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    3,652
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC USA
    Ratings:
    +35 / 0
    I know why. When you got your iPad and iTunes asks you if apple can collect info and send it to apple. You must of hit yes. I always hit no. So, during a sync or upgrade, iTunes will send that info to apple.

    If you can't avoid it, use DFU mode to get past the sending info thing.
    http://www.ipadforums.net/ipad-hacking/27489-dfu-mode-dummies.html
     
  7. peled

    peled iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Messages:
    890
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Israel
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    Well.
    Let see who can find a way to unsubscribe to send iTunes info to Apple.
    Or
    How can you tell if you permit it upon installing iTunes...
     
  8. graywolf

    graywolf iPad Super Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    3,652
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC USA
    Ratings:
    +35 / 0
    When you do a restore (I think an update too) iTunes will ask you of it can send anonymous data to apple about the iPad. Just say no.
     
  9. peled

    peled iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Messages:
    890
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Israel
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    mmm...
    I thought maybe it is being done on a regular basis, like when you grade an application, or when you buy one. Or what ever.
    If it is only upon restore - Who cares.
    If it is upon installing iTunes - It's too late.
     
  10. Poser

    Poser iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    Messages:
    816
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    toronto
    Ratings:
    +27 / 0
    keep your jailbreak, until you really need warranty help.

    but if you wanna go ahead anyway, open cydia and see what your shsh say in green lettering....[​IMG]
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
how to reverse cydia jailbreak
,
how to reverse jailbreak ipad 2
,

how to undo cydia

,

how to undo cydia jailbreak

,
how to undo jailbreak ipad 2
,
how to undo jailbreaking on ipad 2
,

reverse jailbreak ipad 2

,
reversing jailbreak ipad 2
,

undo jailbreak

,
undoing jailbreak on ipad