teamviewer vs splashtop

Discussion in 'iPad Apps' started by speedlever, Dec 30, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. speedlever

    speedlever iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    203
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    NC, USA
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0
    I have been using LMI.free for years on various Windows boxes in support of my own and numerous other remote PCs. With my recent acquisition of an iPad, I would like to use the iPad to access those Windows PCs for the same purpose.

    I can get to a PC, but the screen refreshes are agonizingly slow... not at all like using any PC to log into LMI.free and then going to a PC of my choice to work on.

    Also, if I try to install the LMI plugin for Mac, it says the dl failed and says Safari cannot dl the file.

    I have an installed base of LMI.free PCs (~20 or so) that I maintain, but can't upload any files from my end due to limitations of the LMI.free version. So I'm thinking maybe it's time to look at another free or low-cost option since LMI Ignition is kinda expensive and I'm not sure about being able to upload files with Ignition either.

    Anyone have any thoughts or comparison of these two programs? I assume they work similar to what I'm used to requiring a program to be installed on the host computer and providing me access when I log into the appropriate website. I know that both allow the ability to upload files from my end which is a plus.
     
  2. donka

    donka iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    796
    Thanks Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +27 / 0
    I have both - TeamViewer works more like LMI i.e. easy to access across the Internet. Splashtop works better over the LAN and is almost real time in screen updates.
     
  3. speedlever

    speedlever iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    203
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    NC, USA
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0
    Thanks for the feedback donka. So for my purposes of maintaining remote and local Windows installations, do you have a preference for one over the other? Remote is more important than local since I can just get up and walk over to a PC on my wireless LAN, if need be.
     
  4. gentlefury

    gentlefury iPad Guru

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    2,617
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0
    Splashtop works exactly the same for me over LAN and wan.

    You just have to port forward to view remotely...very simple.
     
  5. donka

    donka iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    796
    Thanks Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +27 / 0

    For this purpose I personally would be using TeamViewer. It's more complete in my eyes and easy to use remotely.
    I prefer Splashtop for LAN access because of the speed of screen refresh & carrying audio - important for running my poker client software.
     
  6. gentlefury

    gentlefury iPad Guru

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    2,617
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0
    And I recommend splashtop. I use it everyday all day at work. I set my iPad next to me with my bt keyboard and it's basically a laptop, since I can do everything on it and it is FAST!!!
     
  7. speedlever

    speedlever iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    203
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    NC, USA
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0
    Well that certainly settles that issue! One solid vote for each one!

    Logging in to my LMI/free account using Safari in the iPad (and wifi), I navigated to one of my managed PCs and the screen refresh was glacial compared to doing the same thing on a PC. I don't know enough about the iPad/Apple yet to understand why this is.

    So I'd like to kill two birds with one stone and get my speed back plus have the ability to transfer files.

    Sounds like either would work for me. I haven't had to do the port transfer thing before, but I'm sure I can figure it out.. with a little help if needed.
     
  8. speedlever

    speedlever iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    203
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    NC, USA
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0
    Reading a bit in the description of TV, there seem to be two options to remotely manage a PC... either install an app on the host or have an operator there to manually run an app. Is that correct?

    How does Splashtop work in this regard?
     
  9. donka

    donka iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    796
    Thanks Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +27 / 0
    Splashtop has a service that is always running - no option to start the share manually.
     
  10. Hasty

    Hasty iPad Ninja

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,266
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Location
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0
    I switched from Team Viewer to Splashtop on someones recommendation and been more than happy with it since it runs on both macs and pc's.
    Sadly I can't remember the exact reason why since it was a while ago, but expect it was just snappier and more easy to use.
     
  11. KekszNET

    KekszNET iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hungary
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    testing splashtop

    [​IMG]

    Running Splashtop on Windows 7 PC, tested Chrome remote from the Ipad.


    There is only 1 thing I 'm missing:
    do not send the sound to the ipad

    (You can disable the sound on the main server and let the ipad do that, but on the other way not! If you don't set anything both have sound, like the "server" and remote client (ipad) too... Which is bad :-D An extra option should be added)
     
  12. speedlever

    speedlever iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    203
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    NC, USA
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0
    Well, I figure nothing better to do that just try them out for myself. So I bought Splashtop for the iPad and also installed Splashtop remote on a computer where I was visiting this afternoon. I was able to connect just fine via the WLAN there. But now that I'm back home, I don't know how to gain access to that remote computer. Not much in the way of tutorials that I've found either.

    So now I'm looking into Teamviewer. I d/l the TV app for the iPad and on the partner list screen, attempted to setup a new account. But all I got for the longest time was a blank screen with the circling/busy icon. Finally, after multiple attempts, it let me create an account. Now it works fine and I can access my Win7/64 computer with ease. It even leaves the resolution alone, unlike Splashtop which reconfigures the host resolution to 1024x768. However, there is a setting that lets you leave the host computer in its default configuration, but that is not the default setting in Splashtop.

    I've learned that, just like LMI free, if I want 24/7 unattended access, I have to install a program on the host computer. No surprise there. But the advantage is that with TV I can transfer files.

    I have yet to figure out how to gain remote access via Splashtop. Been trying to figure out how to do port forwarding with my Linksys router. Looks easy enough, but I just haven't sorted it out yet.
     
    Last edited: Jan 3, 2011
  13. epb

    epb iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Messages:
    888
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Ratings:
    +18 / 0
    Have you checked out th 2wire instructions I wrote? Not the same router but I would think the procedures are similar.
     
  14. chowdown

    chowdown iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    270
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sydney
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0
    Snow Leopard only, no?
     
  15. KekszNET

    KekszNET iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hungary
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    You need to enable portforward and access the IP of your ISP with Splashtop.

    To let the resolution as it, you should change the Splashtop client settings under Advanced to use the native screen of the host computer. Than it won't automaticall resize to 1024x768.
     
Similar Threads
  1. jimbo1mcm
    Replies:
    14
    Views:
    25,578
  2. beatlejohn
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    4,506
  3. Destroyer
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    1,210
  4. Waterbabies
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    4,236
  5. chrismcgill
    Replies:
    8
    Views:
    834
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
splashtop 2 vs teamviewer
,
splashtop or teamviewer
,
splashtop teamviewer
,

splashtop vs teamviewer

,
teamviewer or splashtop
,
teamviewer splashtop
,
teamviewer splashtop 2
,
teamviewer vs slashtop
,

teamviewer vs splashtop

,
teamviewer vs splashtop 2