Quick question about ipad and itunes

Discussion in 'iPad General Discussions' started by shagsipad1, Jul 30, 2012.

  1. shagsipad1

    shagsipad1 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I have an ipad1 that I have had for quite awhile now and I have never updated it. Im still running 4.2 because I never really wanted to mess up a good thing. I've just heard too many horror stories about things not working right after updates. So I figured why bother if everything is working fine....right? Well anyways I'm gonna get to the question. Last night I finally decided that it was time to update as there are a few apps that I want that require 4.3 and one of my paid apps was updated a few weeks ago is no longer working because it requires 4.3. Ok so I was syncing and all that on iTunes then it came time to update...I took the plunge and hit the update button. And a message popped up saying that I have apps that can transfer files to iTunes and that it is recommended. What's that mean? So I never updated. Help!
     
  2. therealriley

    therealriley iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    Messages:
    548
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +21 / 0
    Sync your apps. Some of your apps may have documents inside and using iTunes on pc (I don't know where because I don't use a pc) you should be able to backup or copy them documents to your pc. Try this and I'm sure others will pop up with some other ideas. Good luck.
     
  3. shagsipad1

    shagsipad1 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Ok I will do that. Thnx. I kind of thought it automatically did that during the initial sync that happens when I connect to iTunes. I'm gonna go hook it up right now. I'll let u know k. Thnx again.
     
  4. shagsipad1

    shagsipad1 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Do I want to sync apps? Or just transfer files from certain apps? Let me see if I understand, if I sync apps that is putting apps from my iTunes to my iPad right? If so I don't want to do that.
     
  5. therealriley

    therealriley iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    Messages:
    548
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +21 / 0
    It's a bit difficult because I haven't used that iTunes for years. If you click on the device on the left it used to come up with a box where you can select apps and you can tick or untick each of the apps you want, I would check the apps you got for the documents inside also, and back them up.
    It's really difficult for me too guess without doing you any harm by mistake. Is it just asking for a backup to be done? You should try to back up everything you can regularly really to avoid things like this. You don't always have to update it this way because you can select to upgrade or not, if not then you can sync as normal. Is there much on this that you do not want to lose? Are all your apps already backed up with iTunes? Hopefully someone experienced can help a bit further? It's hard to help without seeing what your doing. Il help as much as I can though.
     
  6. shagsipad1

    shagsipad1 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Ok I backed it up and transferred everything to my iTunes. I clicked update again and now it's telling me that "updating to iOS 5.1.1 will delete all the apps on my iPad. To preserve your apps apply this update on the computer where you sync them". What do I do?
     
  7. Mickey330

    Mickey330 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11,618
    Thanks Received:
    1,862
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Western NY state (USA)
    Ratings:
    +2,052 / 0
    Is this the original iTunes to which you initially synced the iPad? You have to use that iTunes (on a particular computer) or else you will lose your apps. They are easily recovered - but not the data.

    So, use the iTunes you used to first sync the iPad.

    Marilyn
     
    Last edited: Jul 30, 2012
  8. Totallylagit

    Totallylagit iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    Messages:
    163
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    New Brunswick
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Use the computer where you sync with iTunes. After you have synced and update to 5.1.1, just resync from backup, your apps will be back
     
  9. shagsipad1

    shagsipad1 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Ok I did all that step by step. I hit the update icon and it says the same thing as before...but that is ok because I just backed up everything right? And after the update do I have to manually restore or does it do it itself? I think I'm just gonna hit the dang update icon and quit being a sissy. Lol
     
  10. shagsipad1

    shagsipad1 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Ok here goes nothin.
     
  11. shagsipad1

    shagsipad1 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Restore from backup right?
     
  12. twerppoet

    twerppoet iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    17,229
    Thanks Received:
    2,454
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Walla Walla, WA
    Ratings:
    +2,992 / 1
    Yes. And the step after will be to re-sync you apps and content; which is why it asked if you wanted to transfer/copy apps as the first step. It should do each of these steps automatically (with a reboot in between each), with no more than a dialog asking if you want to continue.


    Edit. Just noticed the times. This is probably way too late to do you any good. Hope it all worked out for you.
     
  13. shagsipad1

    shagsipad1 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Ok everybody thank you all so much. It took forever and it was kinda scary...but I did it!!! So far so good! Now I just hope everything still works good when I hook it up to my Alesis io dock. I've heard some bad stuff about ios5 and the io dock. Again thanx everybody!!
     
  14. twerppoet

    twerppoet iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    17,229
    Thanks Received:
    2,454
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Walla Walla, WA
    Ratings:
    +2,992 / 1
    Glad it worked. I'm not familiar with the Alesis dock, but all of my peripherals worked fine after the update.
     

Share This Page