1. Due to the recent site upgrade, the iPadForums (iPF) App will no longer work. The new iPadForums.net website has been designed from the ground up to work perfectly from any mobile, tablet, or desktop computer using the built in internet browser. Create a shortcut to iPadForums.net on your home screen by following these steps: Create an icon for iPadForums.net

Question about installing Beta OS

Discussion in 'iPad OS' started by Kandjar, Oct 29, 2010.

  1. Kandjar
    Offline

    Kandjar iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I'm already registered as a iOS developper;

    I was wondering: will installing an iOS beta wipe everything on the device?
    I have currently over 400 apps installed on my iPad (that's why I need the folders :p) + some data I don't wanna loose (some even work related)...

    So in a way I really want to install the new beta; but on the other hand; I can't afford risking the lost of data on it...

    Is it safe to install it? Has anyone got his iPad wiped out after installing a beta OS?
  2. j0yful
    Offline

    j0yful iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,189
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0
    I think it's safe, it didnt wipe anything off my ipad. I've got from beta1 to beta3.

    But just to be on the safeside. You could back up your Ipad, that way you dont have to worry.
  3. BrennB
    Offline

    BrennB iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,278
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0
    Yeah, backup first then save backup file copy to dif location just in case iTunes loses the original....then if it does wipe and fails to restoration can run a manual back restore
  4. Mike_73
    Offline

    Mike_73 iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    189
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I forgot to backup my stuff and upgrading didn't change anything. But this is not to say that nothing will happen though :D
  5. col.bris
    Offline

    col.bris Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    5,534
    Thanks Received:
    420
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Brisbane , Queensland Australia
    Ratings:
    +458 / 0
    I am a bit surprised that you are a developer but have no idea of what procedures that need to be implemented . The issue with any beta is simple never use private data nor critical data when installing beta software unless you are backed up. It is not a statement it is mandatory

Share This Page