Question about installing Beta OS

Discussion in 'iPad OS' started by Kandjar, Oct 29, 2010.

  1. Kandjar

    Kandjar
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I'm already registered as a iOS developper;

    I was wondering: will installing an iOS beta wipe everything on the device?
    I have currently over 400 apps installed on my iPad (that's why I need the folders :p) + some data I don't wanna loose (some even work related)...

    So in a way I really want to install the new beta; but on the other hand; I can't afford risking the lost of data on it...

    Is it safe to install it? Has anyone got his iPad wiped out after installing a beta OS?
     
  2. j0yful

    j0yful
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,174
    Thanks Received:
    22
    I think it's safe, it didnt wipe anything off my ipad. I've got from beta1 to beta3.

    But just to be on the safeside. You could back up your Ipad, that way you dont have to worry.
     
  3. BrennB

    BrennB
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,278
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Yeah, backup first then save backup file copy to dif location just in case iTunes loses the original....then if it does wipe and fails to restoration can run a manual back restore
     
  4. Mike_73

    Mike_73
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    189
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I forgot to backup my stuff and upgrading didn't change anything. But this is not to say that nothing will happen though :D
     
  5. col.bris

    col.bris
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    5,849
    Thanks Received:
    635
    I am a bit surprised that you are a developer but have no idea of what procedures that need to be implemented . The issue with any beta is simple never use private data nor critical data when installing beta software unless you are backed up. It is not a statement it is mandatory
     

Share This Page