Posting time is not correct,

Discussion in 'iPad Help' started by Missmouse3, Jan 1, 2013.

  1. Missmouse3
    Offline

    Missmouse3 iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Messages:
    153
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    I notice the time shown on my posts is incorrect compared to the present time. My ipad is set to the correct time but this does not seem to make a difference!
    For example the time right now is 20:36
  2. AQ_OC
    Offline

    AQ_OC Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    6,418
    Thanks Received:
    430
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    SC
    Ratings:
    +430 / 0
    Your posting shows 15:36, so maybe this is a time zone thing?
  3. City
    Offline

    City iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Messages:
    144
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0
    On my iPad, the time zones are to type in a city, and it will use it's time zone. If you are sure the time zone is correct, try restarting the iPad (power off then on).
  4. Missmouse3
    Offline

    Missmouse3 iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Messages:
    153
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    That is not correct, my time at the top of my ipad says at this moment: 21:04!
  5. Roy Rob
    Offline

    Roy Rob iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2012
    Messages:
    1,148
    Thanks Received:
    140
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Niagara-on-the-Lake Ontario Canada
    Ratings:
    +140 / 0
    What is your location? How does 21:24 compare to the actual time where you are?
  6. Missmouse3
    Offline

    Missmouse3 iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Messages:
    153
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    I have tried resetting but still the posted time is different!
  7. scifan57
    Online

    scifan57 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011
    Messages:
    20,259
    Thanks Received:
    2,228
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Regina,Canada
    Ratings:
    +2,534 / 1
    Try taking a screenshot and posting it. If the time on your iPad it set correctly, the posting time of your posts should match the time at the top of the screen, at the time the pst is made.
  8. Missmouse3
    Offline

    Missmouse3 iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Messages:
    153
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    No point in taking a screenshot ( even if I knew how to on ipad!) there is a constant 7 hour difference between shown actual time at top of screen & posted time shown in this forum! Present time is 21: 55
  9. skimonkey
    Offline

    skimonkey Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    18,628
    Thanks Received:
    1,077
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Michigan. USA
    Ratings:
    +1,156 / 1
    Scifan was only trying to help you!
  10. KevinJS
    Offline

    KevinJS Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2011
    Messages:
    10,266
    Thanks Received:
    762
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Edmonton AB Canada
    Ratings:
    +864 / 0
    Go to the iPF website on Safari. Find Settings/General Settings/Date and Time Options. You can enter your timezones there


    If you need any help, give a shout back and I'll do some screenshots for you.
  11. TheRambler
    Offline

    TheRambler Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Messages:
    3,077
    Thanks Received:
    124
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Lancashire, England.
    Ratings:
    +125 / 0
    Hi missmouse, I've just checked your details, it's because when you first joined you entered possibly the wrong location, I seem to remember from a previous post your in the UK, let me know if that's correct and we will change the time for you
  12. Missmouse3
    Offline

    Missmouse3 iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Messages:
    153
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    I am in uk we are on GMT time zone, thanks! Only a minor thing I know but it just made me wonder why! I seem to also have an issue with making a reply to any threads in that until I type more than one line, I cannot send the reply!
  13. KevinJS
    Offline

    KevinJS Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2011
    Messages:
    10,266
    Thanks Received:
    762
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Edmonton AB Canada
    Ratings:
    +864 / 0
    That can be solved by typing Return before you start typing your post. It's a bug in the forum software. Soon as you hit Return, the send button will light up.
  14. scifan57
    Online

    scifan57 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011
    Messages:
    20,259
    Thanks Received:
    2,228
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Regina,Canada
    Ratings:
    +2,534 / 1
    This is a known bug on the app. The workaround is to tap the return button before starting to type your post, that way the send button is active, however short your message is.
    Last edited: Jan 1, 2013
  15. TheRambler
    Offline

    TheRambler Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Messages:
    3,077
    Thanks Received:
    124
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Lancashire, England.
    Ratings:
    +125 / 0
    Time has now been adjusted to GMT London, should work perfectly now.

Share This Page