Popup Screen: Could Not Activate Cellular Data Network

Discussion in 'iPad Help' started by AkaCam9, Sep 27, 2011.

  1. AkaCam9
    Offline

    AkaCam9 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    How do I turn the Cellular Data popup off? I don't subscribe to Verizon (iPad Designation), so don't appreciate the frequent notification that my iPad 2 can't make the connection. My "Settings/Cellular Data" is already set to Off. The goal, by having it set to off, is to prevent the IPad from using this function all the time. Anything to lessen the draw on the battery. Obviously this didn't work, so is there another way to stop the popup screen?
  2. Tim SPRACKLEN
    Offline

    Tim SPRACKLEN iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    15,246
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +121 / 0
    I moved this to the Help section, where I think it will receive better attention.

    Tim
  3. AkaCam9
    Offline

    AkaCam9 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Thanks Tim. As you can see I'm new to this setup.
    BTW like your alien six-shooter!
  4. Tim SPRACKLEN
    Offline

    Tim SPRACKLEN iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    15,246
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +121 / 0
    Are you actually getting a cellular data can't connect pop-up or simply one that says the iPad can't connect to the Internet?

    My avatar is not of my own making - it was put there by one of the other Moderators, SweetPoisin. :(

    Tim
  5. AkaCam9
    Offline

    AkaCam9 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Nope getting exactly as I wrote it.
  6. AkaCam9
    Offline

    AkaCam9 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    That's funny, your peers are looking out after you. Did you return the favor? I got a kick out of it.
  7. Tim SPRACKLEN
    Offline

    Tim SPRACKLEN iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    15,246
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +121 / 0
    OK - but something on your iPad must want access to the Internet - perhaps it's your Mail app trying to check for new email? Presumably you're in an app that doesn't require Internet access - perhaps an Office app - and you're getting this pop-up as, say, Mail checks for new email. Have you got your Mail app set to automatically retrieve email?

    Tim
  8. AkaCam9
    Offline

    AkaCam9 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I'm familiar with the screen prompt when my system can't connect with the internet. This isn't that. I do have my system setup to check e-mail every 15, but that shouldn't involve my cell function, because I have that function totally shut down. There is a special area to shut that off, in the settings area.
  9. Tim SPRACKLEN
    Offline

    Tim SPRACKLEN iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    15,246
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +121 / 0
    OK - so you're saying that you're connected to WiFi (so that your Mail client can check for email) but that this pop-up still occurs - even though you're connected to the Internet via WiFii? That is very strange because, as I'm sure you know, the iPad will absolutely always try to use WiFi to connect to the Internet irrespective of how poor that connection is - i.e. it will never switch to 3G if there's a WiFi connection available.

    As you say, too, there is a special area in the 'Settings' menu ('Cellular Data'), where you can turn off access to cellular data for precisely the reason that you cite.

    I'm hoping that another Member will come along with some other ideas because, as you can see, I'm running out of ideas myself....:(

    Tim
  10. AkaCam9
    Offline

    AkaCam9 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Yes, everything you've said is correct. I am connected to the Web, often typing an e-mail or Web searching, and that darned popup screen will appear. And of course it insists that I click it off before I can continue typing. I know the iPad always searches for a WiFi connection and only goes to 3G, if it can't find the former,

    Thanks for giving the issue some though, even if you couldn't figure it out. It drives me nuts, as you can imagine.
  11. Tim SPRACKLEN
    Offline

    Tim SPRACKLEN iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    15,246
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +121 / 0
    Yes - I can well imagine how annoying it must be. I still can't understand the cause though. When my iPad's out of 3G coverage I don't get that pop up - it only appears when there's no WiFi or 3G.

    Tim
  12. AkaCam9
    Offline

    AkaCam9 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Now that you and I are talking about this, I do believe the search 3G is tied directly into the Settings/Mail . . . Push/XXmins. function. Assuming all the various searches (multiply e-mails) are being completed, but when it tries to complete the G3 search, the fact that I have it turn off prevents that search and triggers the popup prompt.

    So the way to test this theory is to change the Settings/Mail/Push setting from every 15-mins to say every 5-mins, or even manual only, and see if it stops the popup prompt. I'll give it a try and let you know.
  13. AkaCam9
    Offline

    AkaCam9 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    It's under the Fetch New, I just looked and changed it to manually.
  14. Tim SPRACKLEN
    Offline

    Tim SPRACKLEN iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    15,246
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +121 / 0
    OK - I'll be very interested on how this goes!

    Tim
  15. AkaCam9
    Offline

    AkaCam9 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Well, I didn't even have to wait 15-mins to find out. I turned it to manual and still within mins. the popup was up. Okay, so maybe I have to disengage Push all together; but that doesn't make sense as that function isn't supposed to search as a directive from my iPad, it's supposed to be activated by the e-mail server.
  16. AkaCam9
    Offline

    AkaCam9 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    It just popup again. See how often it's happening.
  17. AkaCam9
    Offline

    AkaCam9 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Darn it's up again. Obviously it doesn't have to do with that function. It's really popping up frequently.
  18. AkaCam9
    Offline

    AkaCam9 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Up again. Okay, there doesn't seem to be a set timing on it. It's just up a lot!
  19. Tim SPRACKLEN
    Offline

    Tim SPRACKLEN iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    15,246
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +121 / 0
    I am really puzzled - and why do we have this thread all to ourselves?? Is this a Verizon issue? (I have a GSM iPad).

    I'm sure other (Verizon) iPad Members must have some take on this - come on, guys...please...I've run out of ideas - again...:(

    Tim
  20. AkaCam9
    Offline

    AkaCam9 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I can't imagine it having anything to do with Verizon, as I never formatted the iPaq with any Verizon info. I download everything I need before I leave home, so chose not to pay a subscription to Verizon. I chose an iPad Verizon version, as that is my cell phone carrier, thinking I might want to connect in the future. But again, remember I have my Setting/Cellular Data shut off.

    It popped up again.

    I sure hope someone out there has some idea. This is a weird one.

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
can't activate verizon cellular data network
,
cant activate ipad cellular network
,
celluar data popup
,
could not activate cellular data network 3
,

could not activate cellular data network ipad

,
could not activate cellular data network ipad 6.1.3
,
could not activate cellular data network ipad verizon
,
how do i turn cellular prompt from i pad
,
ipad air verizon could not activate cellular data network
,
ipad can't connect to cellular data
,
ipad can't connect to cellular network
,
ipad could not activate cellular data network
,
ipad could not activate cellular data network verizon
,
ipad says could not activate cellular data network verizon
,
my ipad says csn'r activate cellular data
,
my ipad says i don't have cellular data network what is that?
,
turn off could not activate cellular data network
,
verizon ipad 2 says could not activate cellular data network
,
verizon ipad cellular data notification
,
verizon ipad could not activate cellular data network