Newbie...did I mess it up???

Discussion in 'iPad Help' started by Mav777, Apr 6, 2011.

  1. Mav777

    Mav777 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    66
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Memphis
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    When I hooked up my new iPad 2 to iTunes today I thought I was going to short-cut setting up my mailbox and contacts by clicking back up from iPhone instead of "set up new device". It quickly let me know it couldn't do this and just fired back up, but now it's just named iPad on iTunes and didn't let me set it up.

    Did I miss out on anyting by not setting it up as a new device? Should I start over???

    Thanks
     
  2. Mav777

    Mav777 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    66
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Memphis
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Any help on this would be appreciated, just trying to figure out if I missed something or if I should just let it go. It seems to be operating fine.
     
  3. iFrog

    iFrog Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,568
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina - US
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0
    You can always go back to the Summary page and click on restore. Then you can restore the iPad to a new device.
     
  4. Mav777

    Mav777 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    66
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Memphis
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    But is there any reason I would need to do this? From what I can tell all I missed is naming the device?
     
  5. iFrog

    iFrog Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,568
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina - US
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0
    I don't think it will affect you at all. Mostly all you did was restore the apps anyway.

    stick2e - Sent from my iPad2 using iPF
     
  6. Mav777

    Mav777 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    66
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Memphis
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    It fell to the default name of "iPad" when I didn't set up as a new device, maybe she wasn't meant to be named SallyLongLeggs. I'll save that name for my next fish or something......
     
  7. Rgsp

    Rgsp iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Connect your iPad to your computer. Start up iTunes. After the automatic backup completes look at the left side of iTunes where the iPad name is listed under "devices". Double click your iPad name and change it to whatever you like.
     
  8. Mav777

    Mav777 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    66
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Memphis
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    That worked, thanks.
     

Share This Page