What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

New to iPads - Connecting to a work computer and home laptop? Do I have to upgrade?

seamus517

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Ok, total Apple noob here getting ready to jump in with both feet. Here’s my scenario.

I’ve got a Windows 7 64-bit Laptop at home with iTunes 9.2.1 snyched to my iPod classic. Just music/podcasts. No other media.

I’m about to get an iPad 2 for mainly work purposes (certain software available only on the iPad) but would put music/movies on there too. My work machine is 32-bit Windows XP. I’ve heard that the first machine you sync a new iPad to becomes the “master†machine for it.

Since it’s an iPad 2, I understand that I need iTunes 10.x in order to “activate†it, but I do not like iTunes 10 and would like to preserve iTunes 9.2.1 on my home machine. (But if it really is the best scenario, I could maybe learn to like it.)

So what I am thinking is, setup iTunes 9.2.1 on my WORK machine, perform the steps in the article ( iPad Guru Guide: Sync Your iPad with Multiple Computers (it wouldn't let me post link). I also have the entire iTunes folder (including media) from my home computer + iTunes 9.2.1 installation file on my work hard drive) and then upgrade my work machine iTunes to 10.x so that it can activate my iPad. I don’t buy much on iTunes, just use it to get MP3s to my iPod, and iPad would be similar, but I do need to buy certain apps for the iPad.

Does this sound feasible? Or since I don’t want to upgrade my home computer, should I just intstall iTunes 10+ at work and “activate†that computer to my iTunes account and be done with it, have 2 iTunes setups going, manually adding media to both computers when adding new media?