1. Due to the recent site upgrade, the iPadForums (iPF) App will no longer work. The new iPadForums.net website has been designed from the ground up to work perfectly from any mobile, tablet, or desktop computer using the built in internet browser. Create a shortcut to iPadForums.net on your home screen by following these steps: Create an icon for iPadForums.net

Is it possible to have more RAM installed Orig. ipad?

Discussion in 'iPad 1 Forum' started by Nathanr411, Feb 1, 2013.

  1. Nathanr411
    Offline

    Nathanr411 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Opelousas LA
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    ....SO? Is it? And is it worth it if so? Thank you for your time reading my question...


    Nathan Rice
  2. DrHouse
    Offline

    DrHouse iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    644
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Quebec
    Ratings:
    +21 / 0
    Short answer: no

    It will die as it was born

    Vicopad addick!
  3. scifan57
    Offline

    scifan57 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011
    Messages:
    19,700
    Thanks Received:
    1,780
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Regina,Canada
    Ratings:
    +1,902 / 1
    It is not possible for the owner to add more RAM to their iPad after it's purchased.
  4. iJamesH
    Offline

    iJamesH iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    896
    Thanks Received:
    108
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Ratings:
    +109 / 0
    Yes it is possible all you have to do is fold your arms and blink your eyes and it should work if not than no you can't add anymore RAM to any iPad.
  5. Nathanr411
    Offline

    Nathanr411 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Opelousas LA
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    That's what I figured... It just crashes more and more as I'm sure the reason is because the programs of today are more power and memory hungry then before.


    Nathan Rice
  6. AQ_OC
    Offline

    AQ_OC Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    6,418
    Thanks Received:
    430
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    SC
    Ratings:
    +430 / 0
    Have you bothered to wipe it clean and restore all your apps & data completely? The iPad is a computer too...and after time, things just need to be cleaned up.
  7. Nathanr411
    Offline

    Nathanr411 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Opelousas LA
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Really? I mean, I know it's no different then a computer but clearing it out completely and getting better results I did not know. Are the steps of doing that to long to list? I don't want to appear lazy, would a google search do just fine? Thank you so very much for your time and advice...
  8. Roy Rob
    Offline

    Roy Rob iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2012
    Messages:
    1,148
    Thanks Received:
    140
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Niagara-on-the-Lake Ontario Canada
    Ratings:
    +140 / 0
    Hi Nathan, welcome to the forum. Basic maintenance of memory would be as follows......

    Double press the round Home button to expose the task/history bar at the bottom. Tap and hold any icon until they all jiggle with a red minus sign in the top left corner. Tap all the minus signs one by one until all apps are closed. You are not deleting them, just forcing them closed. Now tap anywhere above this bar to return to the home screen.

    Then...reset/reboot, hold the power/sleep button and the home button down at the same time and continue holding until the Apple logo appears. Let go and your iPad should restart although it may take longer than usual. Also..go into Safari Settings and delete history, data and cookies, plus remember to power your iPad off regularly. Hope this helps.
    • Like Like x 1
  9. Nathanr411
    Offline

    Nathanr411 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Opelousas LA
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Thank you for that info. So what your explaining is to close all programs and restart ipad? I'm very familiar with that. I was thinking there were something I had to do in iTunes to completely reset the ipad. I've closed all programs before and restarted to no change. But I seriously appreciate everyone's responses here. Thank you all!!


    Nathan Rice
  10. butters
    Offline

    butters iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Malaysia
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I guess importantly what apps are you trying to run?

    I used to have 'crash' problem but if I only use not too high requirement apps (generally I would stay apps only require iOS less than 5) I am good.

    I have also install a memory software that free up some memory from time to time.

    So far I am happy.
  11. Nathanr411
    Offline

    Nathanr411 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Opelousas LA
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Well, My #1 app I use a lot is amp kit. (guitar amplifiers that I can plug my guitar into and play) and on the gaming side "Air supremacy" but what's crazy is these apps don't crash as much as simpler apps for example Facebook or twitter. The WORST offender believe it or not is the actual "App store" App.... Dude!!! ALL THE TIME MAN!!
    Another question has arrived and since you guys have been probably the most helpful and "POLITE" people I've ever spoken with compared to the other forum sites I'm signed up to... (people can be such Moderator edit...removed profanity. Please read the forum rules. ) ...I was hoping you guys might give me some info on the subject of the iOS update? Some apps I've wanted says I must update to ios 6 but in settings and in iTunes it always tells me I'm currently updated to latest. iOS 5.1.1 Does my common sense serve me correctly when I say it's because it's the original iPad and further iOS update will no longer apply? Thank you all in advanced for your time and help... Cheers!
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 13, 2013
  12. scifan57
    Offline

    scifan57 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011
    Messages:
    19,700
    Thanks Received:
    1,780
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Regina,Canada
    Ratings:
    +1,902 / 1
    You're correct about the iPad 1 not being updatable past iOS 5.1.1. This means that apps requiring iOS 6 and above will not work on the iPad 1.
  13. Nathanr411
    Offline

    Nathanr411 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Opelousas LA
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Thanks a lot Man! So, I guess one day this iPad will turn to a giant paper weight... Oh well, I might as well just buy the newest iPad
  14. iJamesH
    Offline

    iJamesH iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    896
    Thanks Received:
    108
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Ratings:
    +109 / 0
    Not necessarily. There are a few people on here that still use the iPad 1 with no problems.
  15. iJamesH
    Offline

    iJamesH iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    896
    Thanks Received:
    108
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Ratings:
    +109 / 0
    Here is a good article for those who want to get more out of your 1st gen iPad. Thanks to Triple Kay for posting this elsewhere:

    7 Uses for Your Outdated iPad
  16. Nathanr411
    Offline

    Nathanr411 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Opelousas LA
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    WOW! Thank you SO MUCH! I'll try and do the same and post this elsewhere...
  17. skimonkey
    Offline

    skimonkey Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    18,374
    Thanks Received:
    937
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Michigan. USA
    Ratings:
    +956 / 0
    Please remember this is a family friendly forum-the inappropriate language is not permitted.
  18. leelai
    Online

    leelai Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011
    Messages:
    24,752
    Thanks Received:
    1,239
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Ratings:
    +1,284 / 0
    Closing apps is the first step to clearing ram but you can also limit Location Services for apps you are not using. Another step is clearing your History and Cookies and Data in Safari.....little bits of ram can be stored here also and do add up over time. Settings - Safari - Clear History and Clear Cookies and Data. Once done a reset will help it all settle in nicely.

    Hold the power off button and the home button simultaneously, keep holding them in and you will see the power off slide appear and disappear, wait until you see the Apple logo appear before releasing the buttons. It will take a little longer for your iPad to start.

    Hope it makes a difference for you.
  19. mantarkus
    Offline

    mantarkus iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Given enough time even the iPad 4 will be a paper weight. I'd stay away from updates that do not address a real issue or are meant for iOS 6 compatibility, just because it's an update doesn't mean it's an upgrade.
  20. Nathanr411
    Offline

    Nathanr411 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Opelousas LA
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I'm now using my ipad as a third screen in my project music studio. Thank you so very much! I would have never known of this if it weren't for this article!


    Nathan Rice

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

add more ram to ipad 1

,

add ram to ipad 1

,
add ram to my ipad1
,
add ram to original ipad
,

adding more ram to ipad

,
adding ram to ipad 1
,
best ios app for ipad to clean the ram and cpu and spare hard drive space
,
better ram ipad 1
,
freeing up ram ipad1
,
how to add more ram to ipad 1
,
how to get more ram on ipad 1
,
install more ram ipad 1
,
install more ram on ipad
,
ipad 1 add more ram
,
ipad 1 clean ram
,
ipad 1 more ram
,
ipad add ram
,
is it possible to add more ram to ipad 1?
,
is there a way to get more ram in ipad 1
,
more ram ipad 1