What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Ipad in Recovery Mode

betfair

iPF Noob
Reaction score
hello im complete noob about ipad and this is non-jb ipad1.
connected to my win7 laptop and it asked for update so i started update 10 minutes later thought its done and unplugged the cable..
guess it wasnt finished..
so i cant open ipad now
dont want to restore it and lose everything because tomorrow need to use this ipad as a director monitor on set..
please tell me how to get back everything
i checked itunes preferences and i guess my backup still in there
all i see is itunes logo and cable on screen

tried tinyumbrella and failed..

f4780y

Super Moderator
Staff member
Reaction score
OK, so you are not jailbroken and don't need to be, but you have an iTunes backup?
In that case, and not knowing what state it might be in at the moment, you just need to restore again but you must let it finish this time!
Your best move is to put the device into DFU mode. Follow this guide - http://www.ipadforums.net/ipad-hacking/27489-dfu-mode-dummies.html
Then start iTunes and press "restore". This should install 4.3.5 firmware onto the device. When the process is finished the device will reboot and connect automatically to iTunes. At this point it will ask you if you want to set up as new or "restore from backup". You MUST choose "restore from backup" if you want all your settings and data back. The process will then go through 2 stages. First there will be a quick restore which will only take a few minutes. DO NOT DISCONNECT at this point. Let the reboot complete and iTunes will once again take over and sync all your apps and media back onto the device.