iPad 64GB WiFi problems (cannot connect)

Discussion in 'iPad Help' started by BikerThomas, Apr 16, 2010.

  1. BikerThomas
    Offline

    BikerThomas iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Norway
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hi guys,

    First of all, cool forum you guys started! :)

    I've just gotten myself an iPad 64GB Wifi. I can connect to my wifi connection at home and at work but I still get this message:

    "Cannot Open Page: Safari cannot open the page because it is not connected to the Internet"

    My iPhone 3G and computer can connect to these networks just fine. I've tried all the fixes that Apple suggests including changing to a B or G network only, changing the encryption, changing the SSID, updating to the latest router firmware, resetting the network settings on the iPad.

    Anyone have any idea how to fix this?

    P.S.
    I've imported my iPad and live in Europe so I can't just go to a store and get it replaced.
  2. Tagg67
    Offline

    Tagg67 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Do you know someone that has a different kind of router that you can try to connect to? This may help to determine if it's actually the Ipad or the router.... Just a suggestion.

    Tagg
  3. Sonny Burnett
    Offline

    Sonny Burnett iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    752
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    Update the firmware on your router and then reset your iPad
  4. BikerThomas
    Offline

    BikerThomas iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Norway
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I have tried all these things. Even buying a new router (which my iPhone and laptops totally connects to...).

    I've also tried connecting to several different "open networks" in cafès and hotels etc. Nothing works.

    Is this a firmware error or a hardware issue?
  5. Edlex
    Offline

    Edlex iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    596
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    South Florida
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Have you tried to go to a local hotspot yet to see if it's just your connection?
  6. Bremen
    Offline

    Bremen iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,352
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    home
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0
    So you are saying that wifi is turned on, and it says it is connected to your router, yet the browser says it is not on the internet? The only time I have seen that is when my cable modem messes up, but I still connect to the router. Has happened to me in the past before the ipad. For the heck of it reboot the modem. Try touching the little signal indicator in the part that shows you are connected to the router. Strange as it sounds I had to do that the first time I connected, but have not had to do it again in over two weeks. Also uncheck the ask to join networks option.

    Just some thoughts....
    Last edited: Apr 22, 2010
  7. BikerThomas
    Offline

    BikerThomas iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Norway
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    iPad will not get an IP-address

    Yes, WiFi is turned on. It connects to my network and I get a full signal, but I can't Safari doesn't let me browse anything. The youtube or itunes app doesn't connect either. I've tried with several different networks, I even bought a new router just to see if that made any difference, but it didn't.

    I've also tried to reset my ipad's network settings and resetting my routers (I've tried both Netgear and D-link routers). This doesn't help :(

    I keep getting this message when I try to browse the Internet using Safari:

    [​IMG]
    "Cannot Open Page: Safari cannot open the page because it is not connectd to the Internet".

    It seems like the iPad doesn't get an IP-address from DHCP. I get 169.254.47.236 and a subnet mask of 255.255.0.0 which turns out to be what routers give you when DHCP cannot give you a proper IP-address. The subnet mask for my network is 255.255.255.0 which it would be for most home users, so there's deffinitely something fishy going on with the iPad not being able to receive an IP-address.

    ...before you ask: Yes, I did try with a static IP address.

    This totally sucks :(

    [​IMG]
  8. kheldour
    Offline

    kheldour iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    522
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cologne, Germany
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Is it possible, that you limited the number of DHCP-Clients in your router? Maybe you have limited the number of clients for security reasons.
  9. raylock
    Offline

    raylock iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
  10. gentlefury
    Offline

    gentlefury iPad Guru

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    2,623
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0
    It's your router, when connected it should look like this:

    [​IMG]
  11. mmcolli
    Offline

    mmcolli iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Slidell, La
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Try this

    I had the same problem. Turn wifi off then back on. Works for me.
  12. BikerThomas
    Offline

    BikerThomas iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Norway
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Yeah, but I've limited it to 50 addresses. I also tried resetting my router and not limiting the DHCP scope - still no difference. I only have 3-4 devices on my network.
  13. BikerThomas
    Offline

    BikerThomas iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Norway
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I've tried that about a million times - that's definitely not the solution :D
    Thanks though :)
  14. BikerThomas
    Offline

    BikerThomas iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Norway
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Thanks but I've tried all kinds of security protocols on my router, including making it fully open with no encryption or password. This doesn't work.
  15. AbblePC
    Offline

    AbblePC iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    281
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pa. USA
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    It's not his router settings, he's already stated he tried other open WiFi networks and hotspots and resetting his network settings on the iPad also setting static IP. (however was not clear if he used the proper subnet and or separate DNS than his networks default)

    There is something else amiss here.

    Thomas, try the static again this time use dns from another source like dns 2go, or some similar other than one from Norway.
    Last edited: Apr 25, 2010
  16. BikerThomas
    Offline

    BikerThomas iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Norway
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    OK, I'll try that tonight. What's the dns2go DNS address?

    I guess I could try Google's public DNS as well Using Google Public DNS

    QUOTE:

    The Google Public DNS IP addresses are as follows:
    8.8.8.8
    8.8.4.4
    You can use either number as your primary or secondary DNS server. You can specify both numbers, but do not specify one number as both primary and secondary

    /QUOTE

    I'll let ya know if it works or not.
  17. benty
    Offline

    benty iPF Noob

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    US
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Don't know if you fixed your problem or not since the last post was over a week ago. But I just came across this post after mine started doing the exact same thing.

    I fixed mine by just doing Settings>General>Reset>Reset All Settings. Soon as I did that I was able to connect to the internet. BTW mine had been connecting to my wifi no problem for a couple weeks and then just suddenly stopped.
  18. iDude
    Offline

    iDude iPF Noob

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Issue with 169.x.x.x IP Addresses.

    When I setup my iPad, I could connect to my wireless access point, however, I couldn't browser to the web. I was receiving an IP address from the WAP, and, from other devices on the same subnet, I could ping the iPad's IP address. As it turns out, my internal IP address scheme was using a 169.x.x.x address, and it appears the iPad will not communicate when this address space is used. The 169 IP address space is often used as an IP address a system will use if it can't pull a real DHCP IP address. Once I changed my internal IP address scheme from the 169 space, the iPad connected. Like the OP, I was seeing the following error from Safari.

    "Cannot Open Page: Safari cannot open the page because it is not connected to the Internet"

    Hope this helps someone else in the future.
  19. Sonny Burnett
    Offline

    Sonny Burnett iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    752
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    It would seem that it was a DHCP client issue on the iPad itself.
  20. SpenceOC
    Offline

    SpenceOC iPF Noob

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Problem with WiFi and iPad

    This problem has been determined to be a bug in Safari.

    On some networks (like home network) you have a WEP code or something similar to get connected.

    Very often when you go to an airport or office and try to log in, especially to an open network, the iPad may have worked the day before but now it won't work.

    The Problem was determined to be a setting in Safari for iPad that will be fixed in an update at some time in the future.

    Go to Settings
    Select Safari
    Look at the AutoFill option.
    Click on Autofill
    Turn off Names & Passwords (It will automatically clear what's in there)

    Close Settings

    ReOpen Settings
    Select Network
    Select your network
    And it will work fine!

    Good Luck!

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
connect safari internet ipad
,
error code 1555
,
hotel online connected to laptop but can not get safari to open with ipad
,
how do i conmect my 64gb first genration ipad to my wifi roter
,
i pad not connected to safari
,
ipad can not get iternet pages
,

ipad cannot connect to internet

,
ipad dhcp 169.254
,
ipad looks like it has wifi but cannot connect
,
ipad safari cannot open the page because
,
my 64gb first genration ipad to my wifi roter
,
my ipad says that safari cannot open the page because it could not connect to the server. what do i do
,
my wifi provider shows on my ipad but i cannot get on the internet
,
safari cannot open the page
,
safari cannot open the page as ipad is not connected to the internet
,
safari cannot open the page because not connected to internet
,
safari cannot open the page because on ipad
,
safari cannot open the page because your ipad is not connected to the internet
,
safari cannot open the pagehttp://my.msn.com/default be your ipadi is not connected to internetonnect
,
why am i getting the message safari cannot open the