What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Hp laserjet p1102w and air print

mufffyy

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Hi all newbie here I hope this is in the right place, apologies if it's not and I know air printer topics are done to death, but know one seems to be reporting on my symptoms. Here goes then.

I've setup the printer and it works really well using the AirPrint functionality. I have also upgraded the printer the latest firmware etc etc. Set static ip address too. It does not matter if the printer auto turns off or is set to being on all the time. The printer config says its online. Furthermore, the pc can print to each time.

However, there is one really niggling problem. Every time the iPad goes to sleep, after about fifteen minutes or so, I pick it up to see if my printer is still detected and it states no air printers found. The only way I can get the iPad to find the printer is to go to settings wifi. Listed in the wifi networks is my ISP Sid name and also the printer name is there too as if it was a network to connect to. I can even choose the printer as a network to connect to. That is how I get the printer connected to the iPad. I set the wifi network settings to the printer and then change it back to my network LAN.

Does anybody know
1, why the printer is not staying connected when the iPad sleeps?
2, why does the printer appear as a network to connect to?

Any help would be greatly appreciated for this nooby boy

Thanks

dhewson777

iPF Novice
Reaction score