How to upgrade to iPad Air, saving, transferring, selling?

Discussion in 'iPad Air Forum' started by Hivoltage, Nov 3, 2013.

  1. Hivoltage

    Hivoltage
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    163
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I am sure there are a great set of instructions out there but darn if I can find them. I am selling my 4th Gen and buying the 5th or Air. How do I save everything on the old one, get the old one ready to sell and have the new one set up just like the old one. I prefer to do this on the computer through iTunes. Thanks for the help in advance!!!
     
  2. Unleashed

    Unleashed
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011
    Messages:
    121
    Thanks Received:
    5
    all you have to do is open itunes and press backup, this saves everything on your device.. thats all you need to do
     
  3. Hivoltage

    Hivoltage
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    163
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Then do I set up my new one as New.....or Restore from Itunes Backup? Then just hit Restore Ipad to get it ready to sell? Thanks!
     
  4. J. A.

    J. A.
    Expand Collapse
    Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    17,187
    Thanks Received:
    8,958
    If you want the information of your first iPad on the new one, restore from a backup.

    On the "old" device, go to Settings - General - Reset - Erase all content and settings. If your software was iOS 7x, you'll have to enter Apple ID and password, in case "Find my iPad" was enabled in iCloud.

    That will remove any information on it, and the next owner can set it up without problems.
     
    #4 J. A., Nov 3, 2013
    Last edited: Nov 3, 2013
  5. Hivoltage

    Hivoltage
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    163
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Great...Thank You!!
     
  6. J. A.

    J. A.
    Expand Collapse
    Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    17,187
    Thanks Received:
    8,958
    Glad to help.
     
  7. Mickey330

    Mickey330
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11,891
    Thanks Received:
    2,217
    As a caution, before you do the "Erase All Content and Settings" option - the iPad will prompt you to turn off the "Find My iPad" security feature; the reset will not run with that on.

    And, you'll want to turn off "Find My iPad" anyway. With the new security features of iOS 7, if you leave that on and sell/give your iPad to another, they will not ever be able to restore or upgrade that iPad unless they have your Apple ID.

    Again, it's a security feature so that someone can't steal your idevice and then restore it so you can never find it again.

    Bottom line - when selling or giving away an iPad, ensure you have turned the "Find My iPad" feature off. Save you and the new owner a bunch of headaches...

    Marilyn
     
  8. J. A.

    J. A.
    Expand Collapse
    Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    17,187
    Thanks Received:
    8,958
    #8 J. A., Nov 3, 2013
    Last edited: Nov 3, 2013
  9. richgalen

    richgalen
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    112
    Thanks Received:
    3
    I transferred my iPad 3 to my iPad Air on Friday using iTunes on my Windows 7 PC.. It seemed a lot - a LOT - easier than when I went from the iPad 1 to the 3. I had a bit of a problem transferring my old B&W murder mysteries, but got it figured out and now my new iPad is set up and running great. Now ... about that jailbreak!
     
  10. Mickey330

    Mickey330
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11,891
    Thanks Received:
    2,217
    I know - I was just pointing out (for emphasis) that you must turn off "Find My iPad" else the "erase all" won't work. You'll get an error notice telling you to turn off the security feature. Once the feature is off, then you can proceed with the erasure. And, yes, you must use your Apple ID and password to turn off the feature...

    Then, I added a general precaution to all that turning off "Find My iPad" on an iOS 7 running device is the not-to-be-missed step in transferring an iDevice to another.

    We're saying the same things. I was just re-emphasizing this because (1) this security feature is new to iOS 7 and (2) I just did this process yesterday when I gave my iPad 3 to my brother.

    Marilyn
     

Share This Page



Search tags for this page
how do i transfer my ipad to a ipad air
,

how to set up new ipad air and transfer date from ipad 3

,
how to transfer your ipad should i upgrade to the ipad air
,
how to upgrade ipad 1 to ipad air
,
how to upgrade my ipad 3 to ipad air
,

how to upgrade to ipad air

,
ipad
,
transfer pages from ipad 2 to ipad air
,
upgrade procedure to ipad air
,
will i lose everything on ipad 3 if transfer to ipad air