How to turn on Verizon LTE?

Discussion in 'iPad 3 Forum' started by AQ_OC, Mar 19, 2012.

  1. AQ_OC

    AQ_OC Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    6,411
    Thanks Received:
    431
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    SC
    Ratings:
    +431 / 0
    Man...I'm on chat with a Verizon rep. I went through the process of setting up 4G...and it wants to activate 3G. What gives. The Chat agent doesn't seem to know what to do...

    Has anyone one done this before...
     
  2. AQ_OC

    AQ_OC Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    6,411
    Thanks Received:
    431
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    SC
    Ratings:
    +431 / 0
    Where do I find the SIM ID Code?
     
  3. AQ_OC

    AQ_OC Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    6,411
    Thanks Received:
    431
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    SC
    Ratings:
    +431 / 0
    ok...i got the code..but the verizon website says error when I punch it in..
     
  4. AQ_OC

    AQ_OC Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    6,411
    Thanks Received:
    431
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    SC
    Ratings:
    +431 / 0
    This is a very sucky process. The verizon chat agent is clueless and so is the person that I got on the phone about the same subject. I guess I will take it in to verizon.
     
  5. armoredsaint

    armoredsaint iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2012
    Messages:
    38
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    maybe your area doesn't have a 4G signal and it's defaulting to 3G? You check general settings for cellular and turn ON LTE?
     
  6. AQ_OC

    AQ_OC Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    6,411
    Thanks Received:
    431
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    SC
    Ratings:
    +431 / 0
    No, we have 4g. I had to a take it in to a store. It won't activate on the website. Verizon's web support is very poor.

    Funny thing....in the Verizon store I had LTE speeds, but now, in the mall right next door, I'm back on 3G and get sucky 3G. So as of right this moment, I've only seen Verizon's 4g work inside a Verizon store, and no where else. But this is my second or third exposure to 4g....the other, besides today, we're when I was selecting my next phone....what a lie if this 4g only works in their stores......
     
    Last edited: Mar 19, 2012
  7. geobernd

    geobernd iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Verizon is known to have femtocells in their stores... Unless the coverage map clearly indicates 4G for your area that may be what you are experiencing.
     
  8. armoredsaint

    armoredsaint iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2012
    Messages:
    38
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I had the same issue and started a thread on it last Friday too - anyways, VZW tech said it wasn't registered yet when it arrived at my house since I was supposed to be delivered on Monday, but it got here earlier - reason why I couldn't activate LTE.
     
  9. AQ_OC

    AQ_OC Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    6,411
    Thanks Received:
    431
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    SC
    Ratings:
    +431 / 0
    I'm definitely within the 4G area...this is Greenville SC...this whole region is deep red on the map.
     
    Last edited: Mar 19, 2012
  10. beesknees

    beesknees iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    Messages:
    229
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0
    LTE is barely supported in my area and mine bounces in and out of LTE so it definitely works. I have a mini hotspot so I just tranferred the service and to my surprise it was easy and I never had to talk to a rep. The service updated about 5 minutes after I confirmed everything online.
     
  11. AQ_OC

    AQ_OC Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    6,411
    Thanks Received:
    431
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    SC
    Ratings:
    +431 / 0
    Interesting...but both the Chat agent and the store rep told me I could not activate 4G online....

    I ain't seeing no 4G here, though. I'll drive around the city tomorrow "hunting" for 4G. I'm only going to keep this a month or so anyhow....
     
  12. Seadog

    Seadog Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,522
    Thanks Received:
    52
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    Ratings:
    +52 / 0
    I do not know about Verizon, but my AT&T account couldn't have been easier to transfer over. And I had no problems setting up my old iPad on a new account. The hardest part was giving them my credit card number. That really hurt. It sounds like something is not set up right in your neck of the woods.
     
  13. AQ_OC

    AQ_OC Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    6,411
    Thanks Received:
    431
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    SC
    Ratings:
    +431 / 0
    I read someplace today that AT&T is way ahead of Verizon in regards to setting up 4G. It was almost like VZW is just not ready for the load of customers, even though they have the markets. I don't get it.
     
  14. AQ_OC

    AQ_OC Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    6,411
    Thanks Received:
    431
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    SC
    Ratings:
    +431 / 0
    Ok...I left my house today and my 2012 iPad was on 3G....drove from here to the Verizon store...and still on 3G....so I went in and asked a sales person what gives...the lady took the ipad and turned cellular off and then back on...after coming back on...it took a bit..but eventually it connected and displayed LTE. Speedtest revealed about 7down/7up (mbps). Then I started driving around heading back toward home and the tablet remained locked on LTE...all the way until I got back inside...now getting about 12mbps down and 7mbps up. Don't know why it locked onto 3G like that, but apparently there is LTE in this area, just as promised by Verizon. Happy for that.
     
  15. beesknees

    beesknees iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    Messages:
    229
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0
    I have noticed that too. It can take from 30 seconds to a couple minutes for the LTE to kick in.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
best way to activate my 4g ipad verizon
,
how do i activate lte on the ipad
,

how to activate ipad 4g verizon

,
how to activate lte to new ipad 3
,
how to turn on lte on for ipad
,
how to turn on lte on ipad
,
ipad 4g wont activate
,
ipad wont activate verizon
,
ipad wont stay on lte verizon
,

verizon ipad won't activate