Hi all, newbie here!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions - Site Assistance' started by bbdowns, Sep 22, 2017.

1. bbdowns

bbdowns
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

Thanks Received:
    So I just bought an iPad4 from Amazon and the first thing I notice is that I can't get Siri activated (it may not even be on the iPad) and also I see no mention of retinal logon. Have I been ripped off? Any ideas?

ps - o/s version 9.3.1

2. scifan57

scifan57
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Staff Member

Thanks Received:
    Siri is on the iPad 4. What do you mean by retinal logon? Does the iPad have the newer lightning port for charging? If it has the older 30 pin dock connector, it's not an iPad 4.

3. giradman

giradman
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Wizard

Thanks Received:
    We need to know exactly what your bought - information is on the lower back of the iPad (in small print) or go to General -> About to retrieve your Model or Serial Number information (first pic from my iPad Air 2), then visit EveryMac Lookup (second pic) - enter one of those items and all you want to know about your Pad will be revealed - then let us know. Dave :)

P.S. blank out my serial number.
    IMG_0236.PNG Screen Shot 2017-09-22 at 11.37.42 PM.png

4. bbdowns

bbdowns
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

Thanks Received:
    So I just ran the serial num thru the website you suggested, and it appears I received an iPad2 instead of an iPad4. False advertising on Amazon. I suppose that explains why there is no Siri nor retina face recog. Thank you for your help

5. twerppoet

twerppoet
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Legend II

Thanks Received:
    Report it to Amazon support. They should make it right. Or at least try to. If you bought it from a third party seller, then it may take bit more; but at least Amazon will have the report of bad faith, and hopefully penalize the seller.

• Agree Agree x 2
    • Like Like x 1
    • List
  6. bbdowns

bbdowns
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob