1. Due to the recent site upgrade, the iPadForums (iPF) App will no longer work. The new iPadForums.net website has been designed from the ground up to work perfectly from any mobile, tablet, or desktop computer using the built in internet browser. Create a shortcut to iPadForums.net on your home screen by following these steps: Create an icon for iPadForums.net

Help!!! Using handbrake to rip dvd to transfer to ipad

Discussion in 'iPad General Discussions' started by MuiMui89, May 8, 2012.

  1. MuiMui89
    Offline

    MuiMui89 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hi all

    So I took up study and read about all the good ripping sites and apps to use and I finally decided on Handbrake which started off great, basically I:
    >ripped bought DVD to handbrake on my MacBook pro
    >clicked and dragged movie into iTunes
    >clicked and dragged into 'movies' folder on iPad
    >once downloaded disconnected iPad from mac and started to watch movie
    >movie came out fuzzy and pixelated

    So my question is
    1. Does this happen to every bought DVD if you are ripping it?
    2. how can I stop the downloaded movie becoming pixelated and fuzzy?
    3.will I get into trouble for ripping a bought DVD?
    4. Finally would it be due to me having the laptop on my lap while downloading the movie to handbrake and me slightly moving around (only say that as I have burnt CDs before and if laptop moves while burning they come up dodgy)?
  2. AQ_OC
    Offline

    AQ_OC Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    6,418
    Thanks Received:
    430
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    SC
    Ratings:
    +430 / 0
    Are you not using one of the built in presets that handbrake includes? It usually takes to long to have our computer on you lap....why do you do that?
  3. MuiMui89
    Offline

    MuiMui89 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hello

    I'm very new to iPad so please simplify :)
    I usually do work and email clients at my bench but I was sitting on the couch and watching tv at the same time ( sort of multitasking)
    If you slightly move the lap top can it ruin the ripping process??

    Thanks for your reply

    Muimui
  4. MuiMui89
    Offline

    MuiMui89 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    It also says when I first insert the DVD to rip I need libdvdcss ?? I went on the net to find a way to install that but it was very hard to understand.

    Is there a simplified description somewhere??
  5. leelai
    Offline

    leelai Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011
    Messages:
    24,752
    Thanks Received:
    1,238
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Ratings:
    +1,282 / 0
    Please do not post more than once on an issue, this divides the info given and makes it confusing for members to follow as well as being against Forum Rules. One of your posts has now been deleted.
  6. AQ_OC
    Offline

    AQ_OC Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    6,418
    Thanks Received:
    430
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    SC
    Ratings:
    +430 / 0
    Did you use the preset for the iPad? I don't use a MAC (well, I don't use Handbrake on a MAC), so I'm not sure what the menu screen looks like. I won't post a screen shot since you seem to have the problem worked out.
    Last edited: May 9, 2012
  7. Gabriel1
    Offline

    Gabriel1 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    17,132
    Thanks Received:
    746
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cranbrook, Kent, UK
    Ratings:
    +747 / 0
    From memory, when I did this it gave me the option to download libdvdcss from within HandBrake, I just clicked on it and it downloaded and installed automatically and runs in the background when HandBrake is running.

    On the right hand side of the screen you should have a list, something like iPod, iPhone, iPad, Apple TV, etc, just click on iPad and it should rip it in the right format and settings.

    One thing to note, I have a few Region 1 DVD's (my region is 2) and these don't come out very well when converted.

    The Archangel
  8. MuiMui89
    Offline

    MuiMui89 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hi Gabriel 1

    Thank you for the help I had a look on handbrake and it came up with the libdvdcss icon like you said.

    It downloaded it and now ripped movies are coming out perfect. I have now put them on my iPad.

    Thanks for the help guys :)
  9. Gabriel1
    Offline

    Gabriel1 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    17,132
    Thanks Received:
    746
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cranbrook, Kent, UK
    Ratings:
    +747 / 0
    Woohoo! That is great to hear! I'm glad that it's all working.

    BTW, if you have a Mac as well you might want to trawl over to our sister forum, appleforums.net where we discuss everything Apple related.......but don't leave us here!

    The Archangel
  10. AQ_OC
    Offline

    AQ_OC Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    6,418
    Thanks Received:
    430
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    SC
    Ratings:
    +430 / 0
    Just got an air, so I guess I need to do this too. Is there an app for that forum?
  11. Gabriel1
    Offline

    Gabriel1 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    17,132
    Thanks Received:
    746
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cranbrook, Kent, UK
    Ratings:
    +747 / 0
    Unfortunately there isn't an App, but Tapatalk HD App works with it......but when you get over there tell them you want an app (but don't tell the Admin's that I said so!)

    I have an Air too, there are a few of us over there with them.

    The Archangel
  12. MuiMui89
    Offline

    MuiMui89 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hi again :)

    Yes I have a Mac pro (becoming a bit of a fanatic to apple products)
    I shall take a look.

    Thanks heaps guys :):):):):)

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
after using hanbrake for windows the movie is pixelated
,
handbrake dvd rip pixelated
,
handbrake dvd ripper mac video fuzzy
,
handbrake leaves video pixelated
,
handbrake output pixelated
,

handbrake pixelated

,

handbrake pixelated output

,
handbrake pixelated video mac
,
handbrake ripped dvd pixelated
,
handbrake video pixilated on ipad
,
handbreak video is pixelated
,
how do i transfer a movie from mac handbrake to ipad
,
how to use handbrake to rip dvd to ipad
,
ripped dvd with handbrake and it's all pixelated
,
took movie from handbrake to itunes and movie came out pixelated
,
using handbrake to put a show on my ipad
,
where do i put libdvdcss in handbrake
,
why do dvd's come out pixilated when i use handbreak
,
why is handbrake video pixelated
,

why is my handbrake movie pixelated