Help!!! Using handbrake to rip dvd to transfer to ipad

Discussion in 'iPad General Discussions' started by MuiMui89, May 8, 2012.

  1. MuiMui89

    MuiMui89
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi all

    So I took up study and read about all the good ripping sites and apps to use and I finally decided on Handbrake which started off great, basically I:
    >ripped bought DVD to handbrake on my MacBook pro
    >clicked and dragged movie into iTunes
    >clicked and dragged into 'movies' folder on iPad
    >once downloaded disconnected iPad from mac and started to watch movie
    >movie came out fuzzy and pixelated

    So my question is
    1. Does this happen to every bought DVD if you are ripping it?
    2. how can I stop the downloaded movie becoming pixelated and fuzzy?
    3.will I get into trouble for ripping a bought DVD?
    4. Finally would it be due to me having the laptop on my lap while downloading the movie to handbrake and me slightly moving around (only say that as I have burnt CDs before and if laptop moves while burning they come up dodgy)?
     
  2. AQ_OC

    AQ_OC
    Expand Collapse
    Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    6,411
    Thanks Received:
    431
    Are you not using one of the built in presets that handbrake includes? It usually takes to long to have our computer on you lap....why do you do that?
     
  3. MuiMui89

    MuiMui89
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hello

    I'm very new to iPad so please simplify :)
    I usually do work and email clients at my bench but I was sitting on the couch and watching tv at the same time ( sort of multitasking)
    If you slightly move the lap top can it ruin the ripping process??

    Thanks for your reply

    Muimui
     
  4. MuiMui89

    MuiMui89
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Thanks Received:
    0
    It also says when I first insert the DVD to rip I need libdvdcss ?? I went on the net to find a way to install that but it was very hard to understand.

    Is there a simplified description somewhere??
     
  5. leelai

    leelai
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011
    Messages:
    24,840
    Thanks Received:
    1,306
    Please do not post more than once on an issue, this divides the info given and makes it confusing for members to follow as well as being against Forum Rules. One of your posts has now been deleted.
     
  6. AQ_OC

    AQ_OC
    Expand Collapse
    Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    6,411
    Thanks Received:
    431
    Did you use the preset for the iPad? I don't use a MAC (well, I don't use Handbrake on a MAC), so I'm not sure what the menu screen looks like. I won't post a screen shot since you seem to have the problem worked out.
     
    #6 AQ_OC, May 9, 2012
    Last edited: May 9, 2012
  7. Gabriel1

    Gabriel1
    Expand Collapse
    Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    17,096
    Thanks Received:
    747
    From memory, when I did this it gave me the option to download libdvdcss from within HandBrake, I just clicked on it and it downloaded and installed automatically and runs in the background when HandBrake is running.

    On the right hand side of the screen you should have a list, something like iPod, iPhone, iPad, Apple TV, etc, just click on iPad and it should rip it in the right format and settings.

    One thing to note, I have a few Region 1 DVD's (my region is 2) and these don't come out very well when converted.

    The Archangel
     
  8. MuiMui89

    MuiMui89
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi Gabriel 1

    Thank you for the help I had a look on handbrake and it came up with the libdvdcss icon like you said.

    It downloaded it and now ripped movies are coming out perfect. I have now put them on my iPad.

    Thanks for the help guys :)
     
  9. Gabriel1

    Gabriel1
    Expand Collapse
    Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    17,096
    Thanks Received:
    747
    Woohoo! That is great to hear! I'm glad that it's all working.

    BTW, if you have a Mac as well you might want to trawl over to our sister forum, appleforums.net where we discuss everything Apple related.......but don't leave us here!

    The Archangel
     
  10. AQ_OC

    AQ_OC
    Expand Collapse
    Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    6,411
    Thanks Received:
    431
    Just got an air, so I guess I need to do this too. Is there an app for that forum?
     

Share This Page



Search tags for this page
after using hanbrake for windows the movie is pixelated
,
handbrake dvd rip pixelated
,
handbrake dvd ripper mac video fuzzy
,

handbrake pixelated

,
handbrake pixelated mac
,
handbrake pixelated output
,
handbrake rip fuzzy
,
handbrake ripped dvd pixelated
,
pixelated movie using handbrake for mac
,

why is my handbrake movie pixelated