What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Getting Started

mstewardson

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Hello All,
My name is Michael and I need some help developing an iPad app. I have a degree in Computer Science however I have not done any computer programming in 3 or 4 years. I am a pilot by trade and the owner of the company that I just got employed for found out that I have a CS degree and now I come into the office the next morning and I have a MacBook Pro and an iPad2 sitting on my desk. He owns several construction companies and needs to track each piece of heavy equipment usage time, down time, and idle time. The plan is to eventually give each job foreman an iPad so he/she can type their information for each piece of equipment in and have it sent to a server at company HQ where that data can be manipulated. I have zero experience with Macs or Objective C. I would consider my self a intermediate skill level with C# and Java but I have never written a program that can communicate with a server. I know I need some intermediate language like JSON or Ruby but I am lost from there. I can make the framework of a basic program in Xcode but I really need someone with some time to talk me through what steps I need and spell out what I need to do (no worries, I do not want the program written for me). I am kind of in the weeds on this one. I have no due time for the project so I can take time to "relearn" programming, I just need a direction from someone with patients who wouldn't mind helping me out. This is a pretty cool job and the boss owns some awesome airplanes so I would like to be able to impress him with this project.

Thanks
Mike :confused:

twerppoet

iPad Fan
Reaction score