What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Apple developer program options

tentpig

iPF Noob
Reaction score
greetings all.

I'm hopeful someone out here in the netherworld can shed some light on my question, because at this point, I'm completely confused.

In short, I am a independent software developer which develops private applications for companies. I have a client (an individual with two separate companies) who wants me to port a CRM-like application I wrote for them, and is currently in use in the field by 500 of their sales reps, from the current platform (windows-based tablet computers, such as the toshiba portege) to the iPad. This company does not have an independent IT staff, other than one on-site person who handles their daily help-desk matters.

So, I have this CRM-like app which I want to port to the iPad. This app would not be sold in the app store. It does have marketability, however, to several other clients. I could market it to businesses for installation on their iPads or iPhones, after it is customized to suit their specific business environment and regulatory requirements.

The logical thing for me to do is apply to be in the apple developer program, where I can get the tools, etc., necessary to develop the app, and be able to distribute it to my customer(s) privately, not thru the app store, since this is a product which does not lend itself to mass marketing, specifically because each iteration of the product requires regulatory customization.