What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Formula for NUMBERS??

vistas24

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Hello... I am new to this forum sit. Not sure where to post my question. Or where to get any responses.. Total newbie. I am trying to figure out a formula on Numbers to get the average value of a column. I have a value for everyday of the month 1-31. The problem I am running into is on some days the value is zero and I don't want any days with a zero value equated into my monthly average..does that make sense? I appreciate any help. I may have posted this twice.. sorry.. I couldn't find it on the board the first time..

giradman

iPad Fan
Reaction score
Hi again Vistas24 - yes, you did post twice again (or a third time for that matter) - hopefully a moderator will come along and close/combine your redundant posts.

I will provide a 'simple' solution but one you may not want if you need to have a 'zero' show up for certain days - see the attached pic where I created a small spreadsheet on my iPad (using the latest version of Numbers) - I left the days w/ a '0' blank - the average formula used just the 3 days w/ numbers - if a '0' is included then the average would be based on 5 cells which you do not want.

Now if you need a complicated formula that will automatically exclude those cells w/ an entered '0' in the average, I cannot help you at the moment - I don't use Numbers much and would need to read up on the iOS 7 version. Good luck and let us know if you indeed find another way? Dave

Screen Shot 2013-12-29 at 2.41.50 PM.png

OP
V

vistas24

iPF Noob
Reaction score