What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Numbers formula ??

rockinamini

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Hello all. I am new to numbers and this is my need. I have taken a blank spread sheet and on the left side column C I have listed my bills by weeks, on the right side column H my income. I am able to get the sum total of each column at the bottom on line 39. I also want to get the amount left over. I need a formula that will subract C fom H and put it in column G on line 39. Does anyone have any ideas ?

Mark

twerppoet

iPad Fan
Reaction score
It's a pretty simple formula, so I'm guessing your problem is figuring out how to enter it. Here's a step by step.

• Double tap line 39 in the G column and choose the = sign from the left edge of the editor window to get into formula editor mode.
  • Tap line 39 in the H column. The cell will appear in the editor.
  • Tap the minus symbol in the operators keypad (bottom left of keyboard).
  • Tap line 39 in the C column. The cell will appear.

That's your formula H39-C39.

• Tap the green checkmark at the right edge of the editor window to enter and check your formal.

It should look similar to the screenshot below just before you tap the checkmark, or if you reselect the cell in editor mode (with 39 instead of 10 for each cell's line)

image-2115608616.jpg

Good luck.

OP
R

rockinamini

iPF Noob
Reaction score
twerppoet,
Is there a book or any kind of learning resources for numbers ? I need another formula and I hate to keep asking.

Thanks
Mark

twerppoet

iPad Fan
Reaction score
Here is Apple's iOS App Support page.

Apple - Support - iOS Apps

Choosing Numbers and then Getting Started with Numbers will get you here.