Cydia Question

Discussion in 'iPad Hacking' started by Munky, Jan 11, 2011.

  1. Munky
    Offline

    Munky iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    343
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Indiana
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0
    Can anyone tell me if there's a way to get cydia to stop showing an update for a particular app? It's telling me categoriesSB needs updating but it isn't supported anymore and I can't download it. Anyway I can edit a .plist or something to make it stop showing an update?
  2. f4780y
    Offline

    f4780y Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,106
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Troon, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +636 / 0
    I believe you can edit the file var/lib/dpkg/status - find the application you want in the list and change the version number to match the current latest version of the package. This will prevent the update from triggering UNTIL it is updated again to a different version number by the developer.
    I haven't tried this since the days of 3.x but it should work...
  3. Munky
    Offline

    Munky iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    343
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Indiana
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0
    Just tried it and it didn't work...I even rebooted. I'm on 3.2.2.
  4. f4780y
    Offline

    f4780y Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,106
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Troon, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +636 / 0
    I would double check. I just tested it and it worked fine. No need to reboot. Just start Cydia.
    Are you shure you are changing the version number of the correct package to EXACTLY the correct version number which Cydia reports for the latest update?
    For categoriessb it should be: 1.7.5-1
  5. Munky
    Offline

    Munky iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    343
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Indiana
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0
    Yes, I checked twice after I did it to make sure.
  6. f4780y
    Offline

    f4780y Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,106
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Troon, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +636 / 0
    OK, don't know what to suggest then. I've verified it works on my iPad. Sorry.
  7. Munky
    Offline

    Munky iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    343
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Indiana
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0
    No problem...thanks for the help. :)
Similar Threads
  1. Munky
    Replies:
    7
    Views:
    2,065
  2. glen4cindy
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    1,543
  3. MIKES3
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    949
  4. Frank77
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    1,156
  5. Ipad voice
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    1,084
Loading...

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

cydia disable app updates