- -- CYDIA -- - doesn't run after Absinthe jailbreak HELP plz plz plz

Discussion in 'iPad Hacking' started by AntiGravityLazer, May 26, 2012.

  1. AntiGravityLazer

    AntiGravityLazer iPF Noob

    Joined:
    May 26, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Germany
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hi everyone , I just jailbreaked my Ipad 3 last night by using Absinthe but when I click on the Cydia icon it doesn't RUN , the screen goes black for a second and then it shows the main menu of my Ipad again.

    How should I fix it?
     
  2. Mickey330

    Mickey330 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11,629
    Thanks Received:
    1,867
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Western NY state (USA)
    Ratings:
    +2,065 / 0
    Try restarting or booting the iPad. Then press the Cydia icon again. The servers at Cydia are still getting hit pretty hard with all the people trying to get to it. You may just have to keep trying until you can get a connection.

    Good luck and let us know how you get on.

    Marilyn

    P.S. And, since you talk about Cydia and jail breaking, I've taken the liberty of moving this post over to out Hacking section. Thanks for your understanding.
     
  3. jawbraker

    jawbraker iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Is it not working at all or is it when you try to run one of the tweaks like sbsettings? I had trouble with bigboss tweaks like that one and was only able to add sbsettings about 30 minutes ago. I jailbroke yesterday.
     
  4. AntiGravityLazer

    AntiGravityLazer iPF Noob

    Joined:
    May 26, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Germany
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    When you add APPs to your Ipad with a computer that is NOT Authorised with your Ipad , the APPs that were on your Ipad wouldn't work any more and you have to delete them all and re-install them.

    My Cydia has the same problem , when I click on it nothing happens, its like it was jail broken BAD.

    SO I don't really think its because of the connection.

    I think I have to restore may Ipad to IOS 5.1 and then jailbreak it AGAIN , the problem I have is that I have to save my SHSH BLOB files with the software "Tiny Umbrella"(which doesn't run correctly on my PC)

    Any of you know how I can SAVE my SHSH files by using Ifun Box or any other software?
     
    Last edited: May 27, 2012
  5. Mickey330

    Mickey330 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11,629
    Thanks Received:
    1,867
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Western NY state (USA)
    Ratings:
    +2,065 / 0
    I think your best bet at this point IS to to restore to iOS 5.1.1 and start over. If you are still not getting Cydia to start its initializing, then something must have gone wrong with the jail break.

    Remember that jail breaking and saving your SHSH blobs are two different processes. You don't have to jail break to save blobs and you don't have to save blobs to jail break. The main thing you have to do is ensure you save blobs before Apple closes the signing window. And, for iOS 5.1.1, they haven't yet.

    Oh, and Tiny Umbrella is the other way to save blobs if you are not jailbroken.

    So, try the jail break again (after restoring). Then, have a look at this thread for saving those SHSH blobs with Tiny Umbrella: http://www.ipadforums.net/showthread.php?t=42301.

    It should help with saving blobs. If you have trouble, still, with saving them, please ask for assistance over in that thread. It will keep the two topics somewhat separated and prevent fragmentation. Thanks.

    Good luck with the jail break. Let us know if you get it sorted or holler back for more help.

    Marilyn
     
  6. AntiGravityLazer

    AntiGravityLazer iPF Noob

    Joined:
    May 26, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Germany
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Thanx Mickey :thumbs::thumbs: , how can I restore to 5.1.1(Not jailbroken) ?

    I've also downloaded the IOS 5.1.1 Firmware but I don't know how to set it up on my IPAD 3 , what software should I use for that?

    And Whats the normal way to RESTORE to 5.1.1 again? Can I use Itunes?
     
  7. altimax98

    altimax98 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2012
    Messages:
    68
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    the best thing to do is plug it into your computer and do the factory reset option in iTunes. I believe it's on the first page when your viewing your device. if iTunes gives you a connection error then perform a reset through the iPad in general/about/reset and clear all content and settings, then go a do a factory 5.1.1 restore.

    you should be fine after following those steps


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD
     
  8. AntiGravityLazer

    AntiGravityLazer iPF Noob

    Joined:
    May 26, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Germany
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I did that , it didn't work.

    Im trying to restore it.

    But thanx for the info:thumbs:
     
  9. Mickey330

    Mickey330 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11,629
    Thanks Received:
    1,867
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Western NY state (USA)
    Ratings:
    +2,065 / 0
    Have a look at this tutorial: http://www.ipadforums.net/showthread.php?t=52863

    If you follow the steps in it, then you should end up with an iPad running the latest stock iOS, which is 5.1.1 today. Then, once you've got a stock iPad again, you can make the decision whether to try the jail break again.

    Good luck and let us know how you get on.

    Marilyn
     
  10. AntiGravityLazer

    AntiGravityLazer iPF Noob

    Joined:
    May 26, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Germany
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Thanx guys I finally DID IT :D

    Splashtop is SOOOOOooo awesome.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
absinthe cydia not open
,
cydia doesn't open 5.1.1
,

cydia doesn't open after jailbreak

,
cydia doesn't open after jailbreak 5.1.1
,
cydia doesn't work after jailbreak ios 5.1.1
,
cydia dont open ios 5.1.1
,
cydia not working after jailbreak abstine
,
cydia wont work after jailbreak
,
ipad 3 cydia not working
,
why doesn't cydia open