What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Capturing location of a photo + a note

RzB

iPF Noob
Reaction score
I have searched all over for this but there is so much conflicting stuff. I'm a complete iPad newbie and confused.

I have a 16G 3g iPad 2.

I want to go off walking - possibly out of range of internet and take a quick picture using the iPad, and add a note to it, either typing or voice.

Then when I get back home I want to transfer that picture to my Windows 7 Home (64bit) PC, and be able to view the GPS long/lat location and the attached note.

It would be nice if it transferred directly into Lightroom, but as Lightroom doesn't handle PNG files I think there is going to be another step.

I would also like to attach the photo and location and notes to Google MyMaps.

Is this possible or am I dreaming?

I have imported a PNG file into Photoshop but there doesn't appear to be any exif type data attached to the photo. Am I missing something?

Many thanks,
RzB

OP
RzB

RzB

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Opps - Just realised that the PNG file was a screen capture :-(...

I need to look at a jpeg from the camera...

OP
RzB

RzB

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Opps - Just realised that the PNG file was a screen capture :-(...

I need to look at a jpeg from the camera...

OK - Apologies for that!

Looking at the jpegs all the Exif info appears to be there, I have imported into Lightroom and there is a button in Lightroom by the long/lat that opens Google maps and pops a pin at that location!

All I need to do now is..

Attach some text or voice to the picture and...

Get the marker, picture and notes into the right map in MyMaps.. hmm..

RzB

twerppoet

iPad Fan
Reaction score