Camera Kit does not work with 4.2.1

Discussion in 'iPad Accessories for iPAD 1, 2 and 3' started by toasty_hoodie, Dec 15, 2010.

  1. toasty_hoodie
    Offline

    toasty_hoodie iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I bought the Camera Connection Kit yesterday. I wanted to use the USB connection with my phone (Droid) and my camera (Nikon P&S). When I hooked either of those up to the kit, I got an error message, "The connected USB device requires too much power"

    I thought it was supposed to work with any camera. The SD kit works just fine...but I don't want to constantly take my SD card out of the camera, and I can't use it with my phone...

    It works just fine with my Dad's iPod Touch (4th Gen)...and from what Apple says, it works just fine with the iPhone (which I can't get until VZW releases it)

    So, I am faced with a dilemma now. What can I do to get it to work?

    I'm not JB at the moment, because I've been waiting for an untethered.

    I did call Apple, and they said it is a widespread issue, and it may be fixed in the 4.3 update, but she couldn't be sure.
  2. madbuda
    Offline

    madbuda iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    There is no JB solution yet, apples reduced the power output from 100mah to 20mah. This causes issues for many people (myself included) I can use some SD cards and a few old usb flash drives.
    Last edited: Nov 3, 2012
  3. Dannyboy85
    Offline

    Dannyboy85 iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    646
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    The USB doesn't work for most cameras. Just have too use the SD card.... Not sure why they lowered the power but it's stuck supporting mostly apple devices.
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2010
  4. Digikid
    Offline

    Digikid iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Messages:
    571
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Markdale, Ontario
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Fixed.

    CCF will not work on the iPhone. Tried it. It says that it is not supported and will go no further.
  5. Dannyboy85
    Offline

    Dannyboy85 iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    646
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    I was referring to using it iPhone to iPad. Not using the kit on the iPhone.
  6. rocshaus
    Offline

    rocshaus iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Camera connector works fine with Canon 40D running iOS 4.2.1
  7. toasty_hoodie
    Offline

    toasty_hoodie iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    @rocshaus Using the USB connector? Perhaps the higher end SLRs are good. Just weird that a simple P&S uses too much power, lol
  8. SweetPoison
    Offline

    SweetPoison iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    14,940
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento, California
    Ratings:
    +134 / 0
    Okay ~ so bear with me. I was going to get the camera kit today, but if I am reading this thread right, it might not work with my new camera?
  9. toasty_hoodie
    Offline

    toasty_hoodie iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Right
  10. Hasty
    Offline

    Hasty iPad Ninja

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,282
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Location
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0
    The problem is probably due to the last os upgrade reducing the usb voltage.
  11. SweetPoison
    Offline

    SweetPoison iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    14,940
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento, California
    Ratings:
    +134 / 0
    I'm glad I didn't get one!
  12. iVan
    Offline

    iVan iPad Ninja

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,932
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Near Montréal Québec
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0
    Wait, wait! The camera might not work when plugged in directly but if you remove the memory card from the camera and insert that in the kit it will work... I've been doing this right from the start. My Sony uses MemoryStick cards so I put that card in it's own reader that I plug in the USB camera kit and plug that in the iPad... The thing measures a foot long but it works fine.:D

    The camera kit was never intended to plug all cameras directly in. It favors their cards.

    Do you know how to remove your camera's card, Marie?
    Last edited: Dec 19, 2010
  13. SweetPoison
    Offline

    SweetPoison iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    14,940
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento, California
    Ratings:
    +134 / 0
    Yes, I knew that, Ivan. Thanks for reminding me. I decided not to buy a card, as my new camera holds 143 pictures with out one. That is plenty for me!
  14. col.bris
    Offline

    col.bris Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    5,594
    Thanks Received:
    437
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Brisbane , Queensland Australia
    Ratings:
    +481 / 0
    Marie

    what model Sony camera did you buy is it new?
  15. maryinredding
    Offline

    maryinredding iPad Fan

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    164
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Redding, CA
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    My Olympus camera works fine with my camera connection kit. I couldn't get it work with my phone but I expected that. I wish it would work with a camcorder but I guess that's too much to ask for.
  16. SweetPoison
    Offline

    SweetPoison iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    14,940
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento, California
    Ratings:
    +134 / 0
    I didn't buy a Sony, Colin. I bought an Olympus ~ it's a Stylus - -7030. Something like that!:eek:


    I'm laying in bed and I can't get up.:D. I think I ran One mile too many.:(
  17. col.bris
    Offline

    col.bris Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    5,594
    Thanks Received:
    437
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Brisbane , Queensland Australia
    Ratings:
    +481 / 0
    Col rushes to airport grabs a flight to California only 15 hours in the air. Brings massage oil and big smile to make Marie happy
  18. SweetPoison
    Offline

    SweetPoison iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    14,940
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento, California
    Ratings:
    +134 / 0
    Lol! That sounds wonderful, Colin! 15 hour flight? On the same plane?

    Oh hell no. I would perish!
  19. col.bris
    Offline

    col.bris Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    5,594
    Thanks Received:
    437
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Brisbane , Queensland Australia
    Ratings:
    +481 / 0
    That's right 15 maybe less on high altitude 747 -800 such us life living down under.
  20. stealth.x
    Offline

    stealth.x iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Singapore
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    wonder if there is a mod that allows you to inject 80mA of current into the usb cable so that the card readers can work...

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

accesory requires too much power ipad

,

camera kit does not work

,

does apple camera kit work with ipad 3