BT Home Hub Port Issues

Discussion in 'iPad Help' started by ipfuser55, May 21, 2011.

  1. ipfuser55

    ipfuser55 iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Messages:
    667
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wales
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Being a kind and caring sort of guy, I sold my old iPad 1 to a mates penniless daughter. Bt home hub shows connected, no safari, no nothing. I'm guessing port issues, so have suggested using default, and disabling firewall, just to see if we can get it to connect. Dealing at arms length user in London, me in Cymru. Any ideas? I've had a look through the threads, and this hub is notorious for being a prob. Any help much appreciated. :)

    Sent from my iPad using iPF
     
  2. DontUnderstandMyIpad

    DontUnderstandMyIpad iPad Guru

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    3,193
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Outside my iPad, or was it inside?
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0
    Under Settings->Wifi->Blue arrow next to wifi-network
    is there a http proxy set to either auto, or manual? It should normally be set to off, otherwise the iPad is connected to the wifi, but can't browse the internet.

    There is only a low chance, that this is the case, but it might still be worthwhile checking.
     
  3. ipfuser55

    ipfuser55 iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Messages:
    667
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wales
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Thanks mate, will pass that on now :)

    Sent from my iPad using iPF
     
  4. ipfuser55

    ipfuser55 iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Messages:
    667
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wales
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Sent from my iPad using iPF
     
  5. ipfuser55

    ipfuser55 iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Messages:
    667
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wales
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    No joy there either, hmmm.......should have sent them another router. I would flatten the router and start from scratch, trouble is she is a student and umpteen people share this connection.....? Stumped?

    Sent from my iPad using iPF
     
  6. Hayles66

    Hayles66 iPad Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Messages:
    8,915
    Thanks Received:
    370
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somerset-UK
    Ratings:
    +386 / 0
    Gosh, I wish I could help but my Bt home hub has never had any problems at all. How unlucky, I agree with DUMI my proxy is switched off as well.
     
  7. f4780y

    f4780y Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,114
    Thanks Received:
    648
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Troon, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +650 / 0
    Yes, the home hub is an awful router, however with default configuration I have never had a single problem with all our iPhones and iPads over the years (2nd gen home hub)
     
  8. ipfuser55

    ipfuser55 iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Messages:
    667
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wales
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I'm dealing with a 20 year old, she no listen? She no learn, mind you, the setup they have is nuts, but hey, such is life I have a riff in my head and I'm gonna use it :)

    Sent from my iPad using iPF
     
  9. Phil562

    Phil562 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Middlesbrough
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Te only problem I had with mine...a few years ago now...was we had to change the wifi channel ???

    Mind you this was only using lap tops then....my iPad 2 works fine
     
  10. ipfuser55

    ipfuser55 iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Messages:
    667
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wales
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Sorted, thanks all she finally listend to me............Now got BIG brownie points :)

    Thanks to all!
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
bt home hub 5 ipad connection problems
,
bt home hub wont let ipad connect
,
bthub splashtop
,
cant connect bt home hub to ipad help
,
connecting ipad to bt hub
,
find my location on ipad does not work on bt hub 5
,
ipad connected to the home hub but not the internet
,
ipad home hub problems
,

ipad wont connect to home hub

,
problem connecting i pad to bt hub